One Cornish Summer (Paperback)
  • One Cornish Summer (Paperback)
zoom

One Cornish Summer (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 12/07/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'One Cornish Summer captured my heart and didn't let it go until long after I'd finished it. A heart rending story about secrets, lies and the power of love' Cathy Bramley

Against the beauty of Cornwall, a story of two women struggling with their past: one cannot remember hers, the other cannot forget...

When Hebe receives a life-changing diagnosis at only 53, she struggles to make sense of what it will mean for her, her job and the man she loves. With memories slipping away by the day, she flees to the one place she has always felt safe and peaceful - Cornwall, and the house her family spent so many summers in.

Lucy is having her own crisis, and seizes the chance to follow her aunt to Cornwall. Curious about what has driven Hebe there after so many years, she also has to battle with the secret she has kept since her family's last summer there more than ten years ago.

Both women will learn that memories live in our hearts and that sharing secrets can set you free... But can they find their way back to the things that are truly important to them?

The perfect escapist read for fans of Rachel Hore, Lucinda Riley and Karen Swan.

'Full of warmth, wisdom and compassion...Liz Fenwick's writing is vivid, satisfying and descriptive' Daily Express

'A moving and heart-felt story' The Lady

'Fenwick brings us her best novel yet in One Cornish Summer as she casts her humane and discerning eye over family bonds, relationships, the nature of love, and the power of the landscape to inspire, console and renew... Immaculately researched and emotionally astute, this is a fabulous holiday read with heart, drama, history and humour' Lancashire Post

*****

Readers are enchanted by One Cornish Summer:

'A joy to read'

'Once more Liz has transported me to my favourite place in Cornwall to walk side by side with her characters...A perfect read in any season!'

'Wonderful characters, secrets and romance...hard to put down'

'Simply outstanding...a story that will carry you away'

'Liz Fenwick has done it again...A must read'

'Characters who become part of your life in a beautiful, evocative setting'

'Love, relationships, and secrets...a sublime read which is cleverly crafted, intricately researched and beautifully written'

'This book will always be a very special one for me'

'Absolutely perfect Cornish read'

'What a heartwarming but heartbreaking story'

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409162155
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 293 g
Dimensions: 200 x 138 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
One Cornish Summer captured my heart and didn't let it go until long after I'd finished it. A heart rending story about secrets, lies and the power of love -- Cathy Bramley
A moving and heartfelt story * The Lady *
Liz Fenwick's writing is vivid, satisfying and descriptive...her characters are perfectly formed...full of wisdom, warmth and compassion * Daily Express *
Fenwick brings us her best novel yet in One Cornish Summer as she casts her humane and discerning eye over family bonds, relationships, the nature of love, and the power of the landscape to inspire, console and renew... Immaculately researched and emotionally astute, this is a fabulous holiday read with heart, drama, history and humour * Lancashire Post *
Liz Fenwick, known for her absorbing and often heart-breaking novels, explores how one must confront the past in order to manage the future * Sunday Express *
Set against an atmospheric West Country backdrop, this emotional read follows singleton Hebe as she finds herself having to come to terms with a diagnosis that will change the course of her life * Woman's Own *

You may also be interested in...

The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
TheBookTrail

“Tear jerker set in Cornwall”

Liz! You’ve brought the sunshine into my reading life, despite this snow we’re having, but there was still water when the tears started to flow. Hebe has Alzheimers and it’s especially tragic since she’s young. She... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 18

“Another sublime novel from Liz Fenwick!!!”

I am a big fan of Liz Fenwick's work and I adored her last novel, The Returning Tide with it being one of my books of 2017. So I was very excited to read One Cornish Summer - and I absolutely loved it! Just when... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15
TripFiction

“Novel set in CORNWALL.. a satisfying and well told story”

This novel was the #TFBookClub choice for July/August 2018 and you can read the comments on this post. There was a good deal of positive feedback about both the storyline and the interesting setting!

The novel is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.