The Lantern (Paperback)
  • The Lantern (Paperback)
zoom

The Lantern (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 23/06/2011
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 3-4 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

A brooding, contemporary novel of secrets, lost love, perfume and Provence for fans of Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft

'A modern day Rebecca, complete with an eerie house ... and nail-biting happenings' ESSENTIALS

When Eve falls for the secretive, charming Dom, their whirlwind relationship leads them to purchase Les Genevriers, an abandoned house in a rural hamlet in the south of France.

As the beautiful Provence summer turns to autumn, Eve finds it impossible to ignore the mysteries that haunt both her lover and the run-down old house, in particular the mysterious disappearance of his beautiful first wife, Rachel.

Whilst Eve tries to untangle the secrets surrounding Rachel's last recorded days, Les Genevriers itself seems to come alive. As strange events begin to occur with frightening regularity, Eve's voice becomes intertwined with that of Benedicte Lincel, a girl who lived in the house decades before.

As the tangled skeins of the house's history begin to unravel, the tension grows between Dom and Eve. In a page-turning race, Eve must fight to discover the fates of both Benedicte and Rachel, before Les Genevriers' dark history has a chance to repeat itself.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409135487
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A modern day Rebecca, complete with an eerie house ... and nail-biting happenings * ESSENTIALS *
Time-slip novels are tricky to get right and this one nails it -- Amanda Ross * SHE *
Deborah Lawrenson's new novel, a modern Gothic tale set in the lavender-scented landscape of Provence, serves up an escapist mix of mystery, romance and murder * WALL STREET JOURNAL *
This is a beautiful story with exquisitely dark undertones * RELISH READS BLOG *
A perfect summer read - a perfect read for any time you want to be wrapped up in a great story - I recommend The Lantern unreservedly * CORNFLOWER BOOKS BLOG *
Set against the stunning backdrop of the Luberon region, The Lantern is a beautifully written story of mystery and love in France * FRANCE MAGAZINE *
Time-slip novels are tricky to get right and this one nails it. -- Amanda Ross * SHE *
A modern day Rebecca, complete with an eerie house ... and nail-biting happenings. * ESSENTIALS *
'A perfect summer read - a perfect read for any time you want to be wrapped up in a great story - I recommend The Lantern unreservedly.' * CORNFLOWER BOOKS BLOG *
'Deborah Lawrenson's new novel, a modern Gothic tale set in the lavender-scented landscape of Provence, serves up an escapist mix of mystery, romance and murder.' * WALL STREET JOURNAL *
This is a beautiful story with exquisitely dark undertones. * RELISH READS BLOG *
Set against the stunning backdrop of the Luberon region, The Lantern is a beautifully written story of mystery and love in France. * FRANCE MAGAZINE *

You may also be interested in...

The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Treacle Walker
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Virgin Suicides
Added to basket
Lessons
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Read Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier not this!”

To be fair, the author makes it clear that she was insired to write this book having read Daphne Du Maurier's masterpiece, Rebecca. I should also add that Rebecca is one of my favourite books of all time thus... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.