The Lantern (Paperback)
  • The Lantern (Paperback)
zoom

The Lantern (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 23/06/2011
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A brooding, contemporary novel of secrets, lost love, perfume and Provence for fans of Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft

When Eve falls for the secretive, charming Dom, their whirlwind relationship leads them to purchase Les Genevriers, an abandoned house in a rural hamlet in the south of France.

As the beautiful Provence summer turns to autumn, Eve finds it impossible to ignore the mysteries that haunt both her lover and the run-down old house, in particular the mysterious disappearance of his beautiful first wife, Rachel.

Whilst Eve tries to untangle the secrets surrounding Rachel's last recorded days, Les Genevriers itself seems to come alive. As strange events begin to occur with frightening regularity, Eve's voice becomes intertwined with that of Benedicte Lincel, a girl who lived in the house decades before.

As the tangled skeins of the house's history begin to unravel, the tension grows between Dom and Eve. In a page-turning race, Eve must fight to discover the fates of both Benedicte and Rachel, before Les Genevriers' dark history has a chance to repeat itself.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409135487
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Time-slip novels are tricky to get right and this one nails it. -- Amanda Ross * SHE *
A modern day Rebecca, complete with an eerie house ... and nail-biting happenings. * ESSENTIALS *
'A perfect summer read - a perfect read for any time you want to be wrapped up in a great story - I recommend The Lantern unreservedly.' * CORNFLOWER BOOKS BLOG *
'Deborah Lawrenson's new novel, a modern Gothic tale set in the lavender-scented landscape of Provence, serves up an escapist mix of mystery, romance and murder.' * WALL STREET JOURNAL *
This is a beautiful story with exquisitely dark undertones. * RELISH READS BLOG *
Set against the stunning backdrop of the Luberon region, The Lantern is a beautifully written story of mystery and love in France. * FRANCE MAGAZINE *

You may also be interested in...

The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Book of Two Ways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
You and Me on Vacation
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Read Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier not this!”

To be fair, the author makes it clear that she was insired to write this book having read Daphne Du Maurier's masterpiece, Rebecca. I should also add that Rebecca is one of my favourite books of all time thus... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.