The Names They Gave Us (Paperback)
  • The Names They Gave Us (Paperback)
zoom

The Names They Gave Us (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 01/06/2017
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake and spending quality time with her parents.

But when her mom's cancer reappears, Lucy falters--in her faith and in her ability to cope.

When her boyfriend "pauses" their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp--one for troubled kids--Lucy isn't sure how much more she can handle.

Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor.



But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

Emotionally-charged and unforgettable, Emery Lord's storytelling shines with the promise of new love and true friendship, even in the face of life's biggest challenges.

From the acclaimed author of When We Collided comes a vibrant, compelling story of love, loss, faith, and friendship.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408877814
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 282 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

This is more than a love story. When We Collided carefully yet effortlessly puts mental illness in conversation with the beauty and struggle of adolescence. It is a book I wish could have written, but am so much better for having read. - Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of DUMPLIN’ and SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY on WHEN WE COLLIDED

Searingly honest, gut-wrenchingly authentic, and deeply romantic, When We Collided is a gift of a novel. It tackles tough topics with nuance, and will make readers both laugh and cry, sometimes within the span of a page. - Jasmine Warga, author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES on WHEN WE COLLIDED

A five-star must-read romance for older teens (and up) that will challenge readers toward a better understanding of a too-often marginalized and stigmatized segment of the population, When We Collided is an important book not only for this generation of teens, but those who’ve come before . . . and those who will come after. - USA Today on WHEN WE COLLIDED

An absolute tearjerker romance with a powerful message about weightier topics of grief and mental illness. - starred review, School Library Journal on WHEN WE COLLIDED

In sharp contrast to darker, more issue-driven YA books, this title keeps truer to the problems that most teens face. The protagonist’s upbeat attitude will inspire readers to persevere even during the low points in life. - starred review, School Library Journal on THE START OF ME AND YOU

This is the teen world as it should be, full of good times and good friends to temper life’s inevitable sorrows, big and small. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will want to add Emery Lord to their summer reading list. - BCCB on THE START OF ME AND YOU

Lord offers a sweet story of love and loss. . . . The author is gentle with Paige as she struggles to redefine herself both in school and at home, as well as figure out who understands her best as she stumbles toward new romance. - Publishers Weekly on THE START OF ME AND YOU

Reads like an ode to unconditional love that will keep readers firmly believing in believing. - Booklist on OPEN ROAD SUMMER

You may also be interested in...

Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
Tom Gates 21: Five Star Stories
Added to basket
Infinity Alchemist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Unravel Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
As Long As the Lemon Trees Grow
Added to basket
The Summer I Turned Pretty
Added to basket
We'll Always Have Summer
Added to basket
The Cats We Meet Along the Way
Added to basket
Radio Silence
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
Ignite Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket

“Refreshingly Cute”

Thoughts/ Opinions before Reading:

1) This is only my second Emery Lord book – the first being When We Collided that was NICE, but not all I expected it to be
2) I’m a little wary to be reading a book... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 104

“The perfect Summer read”

A delightful book, packed full of love, heartache, friends and family. At turns heartbreaking and uplifting, step into Lucy's story. A girl who believes in natures, in science, in jazz, in dancing. Beautiful.

I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 65

“A wonderfully light read - ideal for a summer holiday”

With all this in mind, the book really picked up and redeemed itself towards the end. The latter half of the book provided much more depth and emotion than the first half, which I felt is a reflection of Lucy's... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 63

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: