The Library Thief: The spellbinding debut for fans of Fingersmith and The Binding (Hardback)
  • The Library Thief: The spellbinding debut for fans of Fingersmith and The Binding (Hardback)
zoom

The Library Thief: The spellbinding debut for fans of Fingersmith and The Binding (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 400 Pages
Published: 09/04/2024
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

An extraordinary historical debut for any reader who loves gothic mysteries like Rebecca and Fingersmith, and fiction which shines a light on untold stories.

The library is under lock and key. But its secrets can't be contained.

After he brought her home from Jamaica as a baby, Florence's father had her hair hot-combed to make her look like the other girls. But as a young woman, Florence is not so easy to tame - and when she brings scandal to his door, the bookbinder throws her onto the streets of Manchester.

Intercepting her father's latest commission, Florence talks her way into the remote, forbidding Rose Hall to restore its collection of rare books. Lord Francis Belfield's library is old and full of secrets - but none so intriguing as the whispers about his late wife.

Then one night, the library is broken into. Strangely, all the priceless tomes remain untouched. Florence is puzzled, until she discovers a half-burned book in the fireplace. She realises with horror that someone has found and set fire to the secret diary of Lord Belfield's wife - which may hold the clue to her fate . . .

'A tantalising read that swells with secrecy and intrigue. It's hard to believe that Kuchenga Shenjé writes of the past, and not of the present. A beautifully and skilfully written debut'
CANDICE CARTY-WILLIAMS, author of Queenie

'Powerful, gorgeously absorbing and wholly original'
JOANNE BURN, author of The Hemlock Cure

'Threads in themes of identity, sexuality and a woman's impossible choices into an intricate web of mysteries that would not let me go'
CARI THOMAS, author of Threadneedle

'I was swept up with the mystery. A beautifully crafted story full of nuanced characters, gothic undertones and plenty of heart'
STACEY THOMAS, author of The Revels

'Filled with fantastically drawn characters and with a love of books that shines through the prose'
KATIE LUMSDEN, author of The Secrets of Hartwood Hall

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781408726846
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 240 x 156 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A tantalising read that swells with secrecy and intrigue. It's hard to believe that Kuchenga Shenjé writes of the past, and not of the present. A beautifully and skilfully written debut - CANDICE CARTY-WILLIAMS, author of QUEENIE

Powerful, sagacious and warm, The Library Thief is both a gripping, multi-layered mystery and a gorgeously absorbing novel that demanded I return to its pages whenever I had the audacity to set it down. Without a doubt, Shenjé's wholly original debut has bestseller written all over it - JOANNE BURN, author of The Hemlock Cure

If this book's a thief of anything - it was my attention. I was hooked, the story opening with the tantalising traditions of a gothic mystery and then unfurling in unexpected directions, threading themes of identity, sexuality and a woman's impossible choices into an intricate web of mysteries that would not let me go - CARI THOMAS, author of THREADNEEDLE

A compelling novel that starts as a mystery and grows into a coming-of-age story, examining identity, belonging, loneliness and friendship within the restrictive and stifling world of late Victorian society. The Library Thief is filled with fantastically drawn characters and with a love of books that shines through the prose - KATIE LUMSDEN, author of THE SECRETS OF HARTWOOD HALL

I was blown away by Kuchenga Shenjé's debut The Library Thief and her memorable protagonist Florence, who takes up a job at Rose Hall as a bookbinder. Like Florence, I was swept up with the mystery of her employer's late wife's diaries and how deftly the author ties this into uncovering Florence's background. The Library Thief is a beautifully crafted story full of nuanced characters, gothic undertones and plenty of heart - STACEY THOMAS, author of THE REVELS

The Library Thief just seeps into you with its breathtaking prose, weaving together a beautiful tapestry of intrigue and passion and nuance. It's a novel so intricate and considered in its construction, it's hard to believe these characters aren't real. Truly a debut for the ages! - ELVIN JAMES MENSAH, author of SMALL JOYS

You may also be interested in...

The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Beginning of Spring
Added to basket

“A compelling historical fiction..”

The year is 1896 and Florence, who secures a position with false references, comes to Rose Hall, which has a locked library brimming with secrets, to work as a bookbinder. Florence slowly gets to the bottom of the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“A true highlight for 2024!”

Just a few words to describe this amazing debut:
The Library Thief is Vivid, salacious, exuberant, smart, gut-wrenchingly addictive, and such a breath of fresh air!
A huge thank you to the wonderful publishers for... More

Hardback edition
9 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Superb! Addictive! Highly recommended!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy.
This is an excellent novel, totally enjoyed the read.
Most certainly for fans of 'Fingersmith' and 'The binding' - so if this is you -... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: