A Game of Lies - DC Morgan (Paperback)
  • A Game of Lies - DC Morgan (Paperback)
zoom

A Game of Lies - DC Morgan (Paperback)

(author)
? RRP £9.99
£8.49
Save £1.50 (15%)
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 25/04/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A sordid reality TV show turns deadly in this compelling case for Detective Ffion Morgan, as a murderer starts picking off contestants one by one in the Welsh mountains.

Longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2024

Seven reality show contestants arrive in the Welsh mountains to compete for a life-changing prize, not realising what they're truly signing up for.

Each stranger has a secret - and the show will force them to expose one another live on air.

It's not long before things take an even darker turn, and Detective Ffion Morgan is summoned to untangle the truth behind the scenes.

And when a murderer strikes, every one of Ffion's suspects has an alibi . . . and a secret worth killing for.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781408725993
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 124 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

PRAISE FOR A GAME OF LIES - -

Twisty and clever, with layered characters, A Game of Lies takes readers to some very dark places. Another deeply enjoyable mystery from a talented storyteller - KARIN SLAUGHTER

What great fun this book is - clever plot, engaging characters, and smart, sharp writing. An absolute delight. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman - SHARI LAPENA

This brilliantly plotted whodunnit kept me guessing from the first page to the last. A Game of Lies is expertly paced and the writing flawless. Detective Ffion Morgan is a breath of fresh air - clever, witty and passionate about her job and a joy to spend time with! The very definition of a page turner - SARAH PEARSE

A propulsive and topical thriller set against the beautiful backdrop of the Welsh mountains - fearless, fiery and funny DC Ffion Morgan is fast becoming my new favourite cop - T.M. LOGAN

Tightly plotted and meticulously paced, packed with suspects, twists and turns, A Game of Lies is Clare Mackintosh at her best. It's everything you want from a thriller - and then some. Hugely enjoyable - ALEX MICHAELIDES

Dark, devilish, witty and wonderful. A Game of Lies is a frantic, twisting, mystery yet filled with humour and heart - CHRIS WHITAKER

Ffion is back! With a fresh case and a brilliant cast of reality TV wannabes entering the Welsh mountains, the stage is set for another gripping mystery. Sharply written, wickedly fun, and smartly plotted - A Game of Lies is a joy from beginning to end - LUCY CLARKE

A Game of Lies has everything; a clever plot, a glorious setting, engaging characters and buckets of tension. What more could you want? - BA PARIS

If you thought reality TV couldn't get any worse, meet Exposure. The fabulous Ffion Morgan is back in this taut whodunnit that will keep you guessing - JANE FALLON

I loved everything about this book - a brilliant, high-concept thriller with plot twists that made me gasp, and wonderful characters that had me laughing out loud and wincing in horror. I was rooting for DC Ffion Morgan and Dave the Dog so hard I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. It is of course, superbly plotted, paced and written, but it is the characters that set this above most crime series, and I can't wait to find out what happens next - JO CALLAGHAN

Fans of Clare Mackintosh have something great to look forward to. Deeply rooted in the glorious Welsh countryside, Ffion is the sparky bilingual cop you didn't know you needed and now she's investigating a death in a reality game show, but is it a game or a trap? Another hit! - LIZ NUGENT

Ingeniously plotted and deliciously original, this complex crime thriller explores the lies that bind us together - and tear us apart - WOMAN'S OWN

With her trademark twists and turns, Clare Mackintosh entertains brilliantly in this exciting new thriller - MY WEEKLY

Gripping, tense and an absolute delight - WOMAN'S WEEKLY

A reality show akin to Survivor turns into a nightmare . . . Well-structured (and featuring a very good dog!), this is a sure hit for Mackintosh devotees - ELLE

Another cracking read from an author who knows how to keep a reader gripped - BELFAST TELEGRAPH

A classic whodunit meets reality TV in this twisty and clever page-turner . . . A far richer read than the average police procedural - but without ever sacrificing the procedural bit, which twists unguessably along - READER'S DIGEST

Seven reality show contestants are stranded in the Welsh mountains, and the name of the game is to expose their secrets. Then, one goes missing . . . Twisty - CRIME MONTHLY

We were gripped from the opening chapter. Clare Mackintosh's A Game of Lies is just brilliant! - THAT'S LIFE

You won't be able to put it down - CHAT MAGAZINE

PRAISE FOR CLARE MACKINTOSH - -

So many jaw-dropping twists and turns - LUCY FOLEY

She's a major talent - LEE CHILD

Arresting, ingenious - SUNDAY TIMES

No one writes a twist like Clare Mackintosh - PAULA HAWKINS

Superb. Devilishly clever, with echoes of Agatha Christie - PATRICIA CORNWELL

Mackintosh is just getting better and better with every book - PETER JAMES

I can't stop thinking about it - LIANE MORIARTY

Compulsive, thrilling and just so beautifully done - LISA JEWELL

Absolutely BRILLIANT - MARIAN KEYES

Clare Mackintosh is a genius - FIONA CUMMINS

You may also be interested in...

The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Housemaid Is Watching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Resurrection Walk
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Second in the series and did not disappoint”

After reading the first in this series, The Last Party, I said I wanted to know more about Ffion and Leo. The second book in the series is as good as the first, well written and incredibly descriptive so you feel... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Fabulous / Gwych”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, it was an absolute treat to receive!
This is book two in the Ffion series - I suggest you start with 'The Last Party' to read in order. It is also a... More

Hardback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

“The perils of Reality TV”

Having thoroughly enjoyed The Last Party, the first in Claire Mackintosh’s Ffion Morgan series, I was eager to read the second instalment.

A Game Of Lies finds us back in Cwm Coed, a beautiful border village sat... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: