The Good Ones (Paperback)
  • The Good Ones (Paperback)
zoom

The Good Ones (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 304 Pages
Published: 25/01/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Stunning . . . a true page-turning mystery. I adored it' CHRIS WHITAKER, author of We Begin at the End'An irresistible mystery, superbly crafted' ANNA BAILEY, author of Tall Bones'Compelling . . . I read it in a single sitting' HAYLEY SCRIVENOR, author of Dirt Town'Gripping . . . an ending I never saw coming'ANA REYES, author of The House in the PinesA dark, compelling thriller about a small town simmering with secrets, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena.________EVERYONE IN THIS TOWN HAS SOMETHING TO HIDE.On a hot August day, Lauren Ballard mysteriously vanished from her home, leaving signs of a violent struggle.Sixteen years on, still haunted by her friend's disappearance, Nicola Bennett returns to her hometown. For Nicola, Tyndall County has remained frozen in time. Everywhere she turns she's reminded of Lauren. Yet startlingly, her former friends and neighbours have all moved on.Nicola begins to trace over the events of that summer, hoping to discover a clue to Lauren's fate. Deep down she knows the answers are tucked in the hollows and valleys of this rural Virginia county.But as secrets come to light and the truth begins to unravel, will Nicola finally break free of the past - or lose herself completely in the questions she can never answer?

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781408717202
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 210 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Bold, beautiful, savage and stunning. The Good Ones is a taut thriller, an elegant exploration of loss and the haunt of past mistakes, and a true page-turning mystery. I adored it. - Chris Whitaker, bestselling author of WE BEGIN AT THE END

An irresistible mystery, superbly crafted with all the stealth and intrigue of the best Southern Gothics - Anna Bailey, author of Sunday Times bestseller TALL BONES

Polly Stewart's haunting and menacing novel is an event of voice, and a compelling mystery that probes the dark places our minds go when a woman or girl is missing. The Good Ones pokes an exploring finger into old bruises, showing how the small decisions we make can change everything. I read it in a single sitting. - Hayley Scrivenor, author of DIRT TOWN

A fantastic achievement. A classic Southern Gothic tale told through the prism of modern-day sensibilities. Not to be missed - S. A. Cosby, author of RAZORBLADE TEARS

The friendship at the heart of this gripping mystery is among the darkest and most complicated relationships I've read. The Good Ones had me suspecting everyone in Tyndall County, only to be proven wrong by an ending I never saw coming. Polly Stewart is an author to watch. - Ana Reyes, author of Reese's Book Club pick THE HOUSE IN THE PINES

A haunting, gorgeously rendered portrayal . . . A riveting, unflinching exploration of adolescent female friendships, small-town pressures to conform, and the true crime lover's tendency to conflate empathy and voyeurism, The Good Ones drew me in from the first lines and still hasn't released me, days after finishing. I envy readers opening Polly Stewart's beautiful, assured novel for the first time - Katie Gutierrez, author of Radio 2 Book Club pick MORE THAN YOU'LL EVER KNOW

Smartly suspenseful and knife-sharp . . . In these pages, those who stay behind have as many secrets as those who go missing, and I couldn't stop reading until I'd untangled every mystery - Sara Flannery Murphy, author of GIRL ONE

A stunning achievement. With gorgeous writing, a compelling, flawed protagonist whose journey is so authentic, and an intricate mystery in which everyone is a suspect, this debut is captivating. The twists and turns are seamless and subtle . . . a mind-blowing ending - Samantha M. Bailey, author of WOMAN ON THE EDGE

Reminiscent of Gone Girl with elements of Yellowjackets thrown in - Eli Cranor, author of DON'T KNOW TOUGH

Stylish and totally compelling . . . as concerned with finding a missing woman as it is with challenging our assumptions about motherhood. I loved it! - Darcey Bell, author of A SIMPLE FAVOR

Sharp, smart and often sexy, The Good Ones is a knockout . . . the many raw secrets of Tyndall County that make this novel unique, clever, and compelling - Ace Atkins, New York Times bestselling author of THE HEATHENS

Dark, suspenseful and thought-provoking . . . kept me turning pages late into the night - Alison Buccola, author of CATCH HER WHEN SHE FALLS

A riveting debut crime novel that's loaded with elements that readers will love - powerful characters, a fraught homecoming, and twists galore. I really enjoyed reading this - and I'm certain I won't be alone in that. - Alex Segura, author of SECRET IDENTITY

You may also be interested in...

The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
No One Saw a Thing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Wrong Sister
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: