The Three Dahlias (Hardback)
  • The Three Dahlias (Hardback)
zoom

The Three Dahlias (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 21/07/2022
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A trio of actresses famous for portraying Golden Age sleuth Dahlia Lively must join forces to unmask a killer in this addictively readable cosy crime pastiche from a delightful new fictional voice.

It wouldn't be a country house weekend without a little murder...

Three rival actresses team up to solve a murder at the stately home of Lettice Davenport, the author whose sleuthing creation of the 1930s, Dahlia Lively, had made each of them famous to a new generation. A contemporary mystery with a Golden Age feel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Jessica Fellowes.

In attendance at Aldermere: the VIP fans, staying at house; the fan club president turned convention organiser; the team behind the newest movie adaptation of Davenport's books; the Davenport family themselves; and the three actresses famous for portraying Dahlia Lively through the decades.

There is national treasure Rosalind King, from the original movies, who's feeling sensitive that she's past her prime, TV Dahlia for thirteen seasons, Caro Hooper, who believes she really IS Dahlia Lively, and ex-child star Posy Starling, fresh out of the fame wilderness (and rehab) to take on the Dahlia mantle for the new movie - but feeling outclassed by her predecessors.

Each actress has her own interpretation of the character and her own secrets to hide - but this English summer weekend they will have to put aside their differences as the crimes at Aldermere turn anything but cosy.

When fictional death turns into real bodies, can the three Dahlias find the answers to the murders among the fans, the film crew and the family - or even in Lettice's books themselves?


Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781408716403
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 630 g
Dimensions: 242 x 160 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'An absolute treat of a read with all the ingredients of a vintage murder mystery: a country house, mysterious dead bodies and three actresses all keen to catch the killer. Perfect weekend reading!' - Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal

'A wonderful celebration of Golden Age crime... a read you can sink into, just like the perfect country house weekend. You will definitely love Dahlia in all her guises by the end' - S.J. Bennett, author of The Windsor Knot

'I loved it - witty, engaging and hugely enjoyable. A must for fans of classic mysteries' - Frances Brody

You may also be interested in...

The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Change of Circumstance
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Undiscovered Deaths of Grace McGill
Added to basket
The Jealousy Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Locked Room
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback

“The Three Dahlias is a Triple Success!!!”

High Praise for The Three Dahlias, which is well worthy of a triple success as a worthy successor to those classic golden age of crime novels as well as being something new with twists and turns and fascinating... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

“A delightful murder story..”

Everyone is invited to the stately home of Lettice Davenport, the creator of the 1930’s Dahlia Lively murder mysteries. The occasion is the celebration of newest movie adaptation of Davenport’s books. That’s how the... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Wow! A crime read fit for Agatha Christie to read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, I was sold from the front cover 'It wouldn't be a country house weekend without a little murder'!
This is truly a great classic cosy crime which... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.