How to Kidnap the Rich (Hardback)
  • How to Kidnap the Rich (Hardback)
zoom

How to Kidnap the Rich (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 06/05/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 3-4 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A reliable blackmail formula mixes with the unpredictability of life in this brilliantly thought-provoking satirical thriller that shrewdly and riotously dissects the huge inequalities of Indian society.

Ramesh has a simple formula for fame and success: find a wealthy kid, make him a star and create an elaborate scheme to extort money from his parents, what could go wrong?

As a self-styled 'examinations consultant', Ramesh is the cog in the wheel that keeps India's middle classes thriving. When he takes an exam for Rudi - an intolerably lazy but rich teenager - he accidently scores the highest mark in the country and propels Rudi into stardom.

What next?

Blackmail.
Reality television.
Grotesque wealth.

And after that?

Kidnap.
Double-kidnap.
Reverse kidnap.

In a studio filled with hot lights, with millions of eyes on the boys, and a government investigator circling, the entire country begins to question: who are they?

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781408713341
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Intelligent, witty and sublime. I'm hooked. Remember the name. You'll be hearing more of it in future' - Abir Mukherjee

'Brutally funny and fast-paced, this debut from Rahul Raina proves he is a star in the making' - Nikesh Shukla

'How To Kidnap the Rich roars with brilliance, freshness and so much heart' - Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians
'Rahul Raina's How to Kidnap the Rich has already been optioned by HBO: a Delhi-set, reality TV-based literary crime crossover, it will appeal to fans of Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians' - The Daily Mail

'A satire, a love story and a thriller, How To Kidnap The Rich by Rahul Raina has shades of The Talented Mr Ripley that also casts an unerring eye over the huge disparity in Indian society. A rollercoaster of a read, this is going to be big' - Stylist 

'Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale from the very first line ... A hugely entertaining and unique debut that satirically dissects India's inequalities' - Cosmopolitan

You may also be interested in...

April in Spain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Vanished
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Undiscovered Deaths of Grace McGill
Added to basket
No Plan B
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Greed and power corrupts absolutely.”

Ramesh is a self-made man, coming from the slums of New Delhi he has made a living for himself by rendering his services to rich families, as an exam-taker. However, when he takes an exam for lazy and aimless Rudi and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“Funny Crime Thriller!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy.
This is definitely one for fans of My Sister the Serial Killer and Crazy Rich Asians.
A plan to be rich and famous? A Kidnapping? Blackmail?
But nothing really... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“A Crime Caper”

Sharply observed and brilliantly scathing satire about one young Indian boy's quest for success. I really enjoyed this, and I think that it has the potential to be a best seller, also it would make a fantastic... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.