Glassheart (Paperback)
  • Glassheart (Paperback)
zoom

Glassheart (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 05/11/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A bewitching adventure set in the wilds of post-war Dartmoor, Orton’s tale of powerful magic and sinister folklore is perfect reading for fans of Catherine Doyle and Abi Elphinstone.

Through the glass, the magic is waiting...

Nona and her uncle travel everywhere together, replacing stained-glass windows in war-torn buildings. When a mysterious commission takes them to the lonely moors of Dartmoor, Nona discovers a wild and powerful magic which threatens everything. Can Nona protect those she loves - even if it means fighting darkness itself?

An enchanting magical adventure set in the wild moors of Dartmoor - the second middle-grade novel from the bestselling author of Nevertell; beautifully imaginative a rich adventure about determination, courage and the power of love, set in the aftermath of World War Two. Perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone, Sophie Anderson and Catherine Doyle.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406385236
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 234 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Rich and atmospheric, Glassheart feels like a long-lost folktale brimming with ghostly magic.' - Jennifer Bell

'A masterfully written story surging with powerful energy, as brilliant as the finest stained glass. Nona is a heroine you'll never forget.' - Sinead O'Hart

'Katharine Orton writes about history as someone who understands it, and about magic as though she could probably do it. Shatteringly good.' - Nick Tomlinson

Praise for Nevertell:

'This is fantasy at its best.' - Daily Telegraph

'A coming-of-age tale that's compelling, exciting and as chilling as the snow-bound landscape in which it is set.' - Financial Times

'Readers will be captivated ... A magical, snowy adventure perfect for winter nights.' - BookTrust

You may also be interested in...

The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Amari and the Night Brothers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Oi Aardvark!
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Unexpected Tale of Bastien Bonlivre
Added to basket
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Megamonster
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
We Hunt the Flame
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
There's a Unicorn in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Afterlove
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket

“This was a really sweet and magical middle grade set in the aftermath of World War 2”

*I would like to thank Netgalley and the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review*

This was a really sweet and magical middle grade set in the aftermath of World War 2. It follows our... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A tale you won't wish to ever end”

The summary of Glassheart was what initially drew me to the book - mixing the very real fallout of the World War II with magic, ong with the stunning cover artwork. 'They' say don't judge a book by its... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“An evocative, dreamlike story”

Nona's family was killed in the Blitz and now she lives with Uncle Antoni, who makes stained-glass windows. But when Antoni takes up a commission in a mysterious church in the middle of Dartmoor, Nona is swept... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.