Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)
  • Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)
zoom

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 01/03/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

"Witty and clever. This novel really does sparkle." Roddy Doyle

From debut author Kelly McCaughrain comes a sweet and kooky romcom for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Sarah Crossan, and Susin Nielsen's We Are All Made of Molecules.

Twins Finch and Birdie Franconi are stars of the flying trapeze. But when Birdie suffers a terrifying accident, Finch must team up with the geeky new kid, Hector Hazzard, to form an all-boys double act and save the family circus school.

Together they learn to walk the high-wire of teen life and juggle the demands of friends, family, first love and facing up to who they are - all served up with a dash of circus-showbiz magic.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406375657
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 266 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"[...] filled with fantastical yet real-feeling joy." * The Guardian *
"Flying tips for Flightless Birds is a quirky and complex story, told with an elegant simplicity that hooks you from the first few pages. A gentle but gripping exploration of the highs and lows of being a young person, of love, friends and the relationship we have with ourselves and others." * The Book Bag *
"Highs, lows, love and laughter - this big-hearted circus-set debut has it all. [...]Alongside the tension and turmoil around Birdie's condition, and the radiant razzle-dazzle of the circus, there's a magnificent (if rocky-roaded) romance, and many words of wisdom come courtesy of Birdie's blog posts [...] Complex questions are put under the spotlight as the main characters try to navigate their way in the world, wondering who they are, who they should be, how they fit in, and these big issues are all explored with clarity, humour and a whole of lot of heart beneath Franconi's exhilarating Big Top." * LoveReading4Kids *
This novel is as good as Meg Rosoff at her finest. A fresh and honest look at teenage life, and explored issues of sexuality and identity. * Book Murmuration *
Flying Tips for Flightless Birds is unexpectedly funny, often enjoyable and, at its best, oddly moving. This is a debut which juggles the sweet and the sombre, and is ideal for 11-14 readers. I'm intrigued to see what McCaughrain writes next. * The Paper Alchemist *

You may also be interested in...

Once Upon a Crime
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
There's a Unicorn in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Dragon
Added to basket
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Afterlove
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Unexpected Tale of Bastien Bonlivre
Added to basket
Oi Aardvark!
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Megamonster
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Amari and the Night Brothers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
We Hunt the Flame
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bookread2day

“Delightful story ”

This lovely story brought back my memories going to the circus laughing out loud at the clowns. Full praise to Kelly McCaughrain for this delightful first novel. I would like to thank Walker Books for sending me this... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“Brilliant!”

This book was kindly sent to me by the publisher, but this is an entirely honest review. This book was intelligent, witty and beautifully written. It's suitable for children aged about ten upwards, and for... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“An entertaining, uplifting coming of age story.”

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds is a lovely coming of age story set in rural Ireland. The book is narrated by Finch, but you also get blog post from Birdie, which give a bit more insight into how she's seeing... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.