Waffle Hearts (Paperback)
  • Waffle Hearts (Paperback)
zoom

Waffle Hearts (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£5.99
Paperback 240 Pages / Published: 02/10/2014
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A deliciously funny story of friendship and family, full of laugh-out-loud adventures and first experiences of death and loss. Shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, Maria Parr's acclaimed debut novel will delight fans of Pippi Longstocking, and is "simultaneously funny and hair-raising ... strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss" (Book Trust). Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends - at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah's Ark (or Noah's Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406347906
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 201 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking . . . a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale . . an honest, sensitive exploration of death, loss and grief . . . bold and brilliant. * playingbythebook.net *
This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children; beauty, wit, wisdom, joy, thoughtfulness and a lot of fun * playingbythebook.net *
Stuffed full of fun, innocence, naughtiness, passion . . . Maria Parr approaches death, loss and uncertainty with great compassion and understanding * Bookaroo *
Fans of Pippi Longstocking will love Waffle Hearts . . . She has created a very special book; one that combines humour and the carefree innocence and antics of childhood that are full of fun and laughter. . . As well as the humour there is pathos too, particularly when Auntie Granny dies. Trille's deep sadness can be felt as he tries to understand and come to terms with her death. Parr approaches this loss with great compassion and understanding. A truly enchanting book that is sure to become a firm favourite with children * Outside/In World *
Meet Lena Lid, Norway s very own answer to Pippi Longstocking; a feisty, funny girl whose days are packed with offbeat adventures. . . Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship * Beaufort Street Books *
Deals with the pain of bereavement and separation in a wonderfully warm, unsentimental way . . . it is the kind of book that a child will treasure . . . a real gem * The School Librarian *
Simultaneously funny and hair-raising, these stories are beautifully crafted creating a subtly textured emotional world, strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss. * Booktrust *
`oy, fun and adventure tumble out of this book . . . it will make you laugh out loud, cry, hold your breath and sigh with relief * Books for Keeps *
There is a smattering of Norwegian culture, which is interesting and lovely. Written in true Scandinavian style, this book is perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking. * OmniLibros *
"This book is simply a delight. Beautifully presented, it makes a great gift." * Fallen Star Stories *

You may also be interested in...

Dog Man 4: Dog Man and Cat Kid
Added to basket
The Boy Who Grew Dragons
Added to basket
£5.99   £4.49
Paperback
Dog Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Fing
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Dog Man 6: Brawl of the Wild
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Diary of Greg Heffley's Best Friend
Added to basket
Charlie Changes Into a Chicken
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Awful Auntie
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Bad Mermaids Meet the Witches
Added to basket
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (book 13)
Added to basket
Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Birthday Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.