The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)
  • The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)
zoom

The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 15/01/2015
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

For fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Morton comes a haunting novel about two women separated by decades but entwined by fate.

When Alice Eveleigh arrives at Fiercombe Manor during the long, languid summer of 1933, she finds a house steeped in mystery and brimming with secrets. Sadness permeates its empty rooms and the isolated valley seems crowded with ghosts, none more alluring than Elizabeth Stanton whose only traces remain in a few tantalisingly blurred photographs. Why will no one speak of her? What happened a generation ago to make her vanish?

As the sun beats down relentlessly, Alice becomes ever more determined to unearth the truth about the girl in the photograph - and stop her own life from becoming an eerie echo of Elizabeth's . . .

Lifelong fans of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca will adore Kate Riordan's exquisite novel, The Girl in the Photograph.


Praise for The Girl in the Photograph:

'Full of slow-burning tension' Essentials

'A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts' Good Housekeeping

'A well executed, brooding, creepy atmosphere' Sunday Mirror

'A prickly story full of tension' Sunday Express

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405917421
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 309 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Beautifully written, with intrigue and mystery. I was itching for answers as the two narratives unfolded -- Dinah Jefferies
A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts * Good Housekeeping *
Intelligent, poignant and highly recommended -- Louise Candlish
Full of slow-burning tension * Essentials *
Rich and atmospheric -- Rachel Hore
Well-executed and brooding, with a creepy atmosphere * Sunday Mirror *

You may also be interested in...

Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Mrs England
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Unsettled Ground
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Virgin Suicides
Added to basket
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Terrible Kindness
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback

“”

I was fortunate to be sent this wonderful book by Real Readers. The writing style of the first short chapter told me that it was going to be good. What a joy to read such atmospheric prose. Kate Riordan takes her... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“The Girl in the Photograph is enjoyable, and well written ”

The novel opens with a short prologue, narrated by Alice in 1936 and sets the scene for the fairly long and complex story to follow.

Alice then goes back four years, to 1932 when she finds herself left heartbroken by... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.