Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)
  • The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)
zoom

The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 15/01/2015
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
For fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Morton comes a haunting novel about two women separated by decades but entwined by fate. When Alice Eveleigh arrives at Fiercombe Manor during the long, languid summer of 1933, she finds a house steeped in mystery and brimming with secrets. Sadness permeates its empty rooms and the isolated valley seems crowded with ghosts, none more alluring than Elizabeth Stanton whose only traces remain in a few tantalisingly blurred photographs. Why will no one speak of her? What happened a generation ago to make her vanish? As the sun beats down relentlessly, Alice becomes ever more determined to unearth the truth about the girl in the photograph - and stop her own life from becoming an eerie echo of Elizabeth's . . . Lifelong fans of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca will adore Kate Riordan's exquisite novel, The Girl in the Photograph. Praise for The Girl in the Photograph: 'Full of slow-burning tension' Essentials 'A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts' Good Housekeeping 'A well executed, brooding, creepy atmosphere' Sunday Mirror 'A prickly story full of tension' Sunday Express

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405917421
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 309 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Rich and atmospheric, like Rebecca this novel casts an enduring spell * Rachel Hore, Sunday Times bestselling author *
Full of slow-burning tension * Essentials *
A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts * Good Housekeeping *
A well executed, brooding, creepy atmosphere * Sunday Mirror *
A prickly story full of tension * Sunday Express *

You may also be interested in...

The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ladder Of Years
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The People vs. Alex Cross
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Convenience Store Woman
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Men Without Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Last Letter Home
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Force of Nature
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“”

I was fortunate to be sent this wonderful book by Real Readers. The writing style of the first short chapter told me that it was going to be good. What a joy to read such atmospheric prose. Kate Riordan takes her... More

Paperback edition
2nd March 2015
Helpful? Upvote 6

“The Girl in the Photograph is enjoyable, and well written ”

The novel opens with a short prologue, narrated by Alice in 1936 and sets the scene for the fairly long and complex story to follow.

Alice then goes back four years, to 1932 when she finds herself left heartbroken by... More

Paperback edition
2nd April 2015
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.