The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House: The stunning debut for fans of Agatha Christie (Paperback)
  • The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House: The stunning debut for fans of Agatha Christie (Paperback)
zoom

The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House: The stunning debut for fans of Agatha Christie (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 28/08/2014
  • 5+ in stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

This stunning debut novel is a gripping read laced with mystery, secrets and love - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Tracy Chevalier and Sarah Waters.

There are secrets hiding between the walls at Castaway House . . .

__________

1924
Robert Carver escapes to the glamorous Castaway House to spend a summer in the company of his much wealthier cousin, Alec Bray.

But appearances can be deceiving, and the Brays are a damaged family, with even more damaging secrets. And little does Robert know that his world is about to change for ever. . .

1965
Rosie Churchill has run away from home and everything she knows to stay at the rundown Castaway House.

But when she begins to discover a long-buried scandal she soon comes to realise that neither her own troubled past nor that of the house will stay secret for long. . .

As Rosie begins to learn more about Robert, the further she is drawn into the mysterious history of the house, and their stories, old and new, entwine.
____________

'An incredibly intricate story and wonderfully well written' 5* reader review

'A gripping read with finely wrought characters and lots of rich detail and colour' 5* reader review

'I became totally immersed' 5* reader review

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405917001
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 351 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I loved the gloriously, shamelessly old-fashioned title, with its hints of Agatha Christie and Josephine Tey . . . A fizzingly fresh story of mysteries-within-mysteries * Saga magazine *
An elegantly written debut by an author to watch out for * Random Things Through My Letterbox, blogspot *
Vivid and colourful . . . A well thought out, thorough mystery that does have you wanting to turn the next page * Lisa, Lisa Talks About *
A tale of mystery, secrets and love * Female First *
Highly absorbing * Love Reading *
A delicious new mystery . . . We started reading this over lunch yesterday, and became so engrossed, it was a struggle to get back to work * Novelicious *

You may also be interested in...

Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback

“ The Mysterious Affair of Castaway House is a elegantly written debut by an author to watch out for.”

The star of this story is the house. Castaway House sits high above the seaside town of Helmstone, once a place of grandeur and beauty, the setting for wonderful parties, it is now, in 1965, quite run-down. It's... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Excellent Debut”

The star of this story is the house. Castaway House sits high above the seaside town of Helmstone, once a place of grandeur and beauty, the setting for wonderful parties, it is now, in 1965, quite run-down. It's... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
TheBookTrail

“Gorgeously immersive and a house to remember”

Oh how I enjoyed this book! Creepy and exciting at the same time and I just love books about old creaky houses with secrets to share. There’s just something about them. This house had many secrets and it was just a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.