Sad Girl Novel (Hardback)
  • Sad Girl Novel (Hardback)
zoom

Sad Girl Novel (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 10/08/2023
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

*THE MOST RELATABLE NOVEL SAD GIRLS WILL READ ALL YEAR*

A laugh-out-loud-funny, addictive book book about growing up, finding your purpose and whether everyone really does have a novel within them, for fans of MONICA HEISEY, OTTESSA MOSHFEGH and COCO MELLORS.

'Brilliant' Daily Mail

'Comic' Guardian

'Extremely relatable' Sydney Morning Herald

'Unique and smart' Emma Gannon

'Weird and witty' Chloë Ashby

'I loved it' Laura Kay

Maybe my main character will slowly lose their mind too. Novels usually need an abandoned woman going crazy in them. It's gonna be, like, a sad girl novel.


An Australian expat in Berlin, Kim is jobless, rootless, and - as she's slowly discovering - somewhat useless.
That is until a chance encounter with Matthew, a hotshot New York literary agent, gives Kim the direction she's been craving. This year she will:

* Finally write her novel
* Decide what said novel is actually about
* Romantically pin down the increasingly flighty Matthew
* Be less jealous of sharing attention with best friend Bel's baby
* Convince her therapist that the amount of artichokes she eats doesn't classify as an eating disorder
* Stay sane in the process of achieving the above

Because Kim's story will not become a sad girl novel.
Definitely not.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781399723534
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 520 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Take Hannah Horvarth's endearing naivety and Kirstin Wiig's loveable kookiness and you have the hilarious new protagonist Kim - you can't help but root for her. Unique and smart with wry humour that will make you laugh out loud. I enjoyed following (and re-living) the trials and tribulations of being a 20-something writer desperate to prove herself to the world - Emma Gannon

Pip Finkemeyer has drawn such a unique, funny and painfully astute character in Kim. I could keep reading her inner monologue forever. It is rare to pick up a novel so simultaneously hilarious and moving. I loved it. - Laura Kay, author of The Split

What a voice - weird, witty, wonderfully unique. SAD GIRL NOVEL will make you laugh and move you, too. A winning combination. - Chloe Ashby, author of Wet Paint

While Kimberley Mueller spends a lot of time wondering whether she's talented, Finkemeyer need have no such doubts. Finkemeyer's narrator--with her gift for both self-delusion and self-awareness--is a stroke of genius. Sad Girl Novel achieves all we can ask of contemporary fiction: it mocks and sympathises in equal measure. I closed it feeling better able to laugh at myself - Diana Reid, author of Love & Virtue

Told through the eyes of Kim, a twenty-something Australian navigating the complexities of love, friendship, and mental health in Berlin, this novel will have you laughing, crying and wanting more. A book about finding yourself, losing yourself and everything in between, Finkemayer will draw you in with her stark realism and heartbreaking honesty. - The Urban, Australia

A captivating novel . . . Finkemeyer has an irreverent voice that will have you reaching for a pen to underline every second sentence. Sad Girl Novel will appeal to literary fiction readers who enjoyed Ottessa Moshfegh's My Year of Rest and Relaxation and Sally Rooney's Beautiful World, Where Are You. - Books + Publishing

You may also be interested in...

Confess
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Birdsong
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
After We Fell
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Possession
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Bully
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The One You Really Want
Added to basket
Absent in the Spring
Added to basket
Lady Chatterley's Lover
Added to basket
The Bridges Of Madison County
Added to basket
Captive Prince
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
Ugly Love
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Maybe Someday
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Devil Wears Prada
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: