The Last Line - John Cook (Paperback)
  • The Last Line - John Cook (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Line - John Cook (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 23/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Thrilling WWII set thriller that has heart-pounding action, but more importantly, a lot of heart... Completely gripping... A narrative that is as taut as piano wire! ...Not to be missed if you enjoy action-packed historical thrillers' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

May 1940: With Nazi forces sweeping across France, invasion seems imminent. The English Channel has never felt so narrow.

In rural Sussex, war veteran John Cook has been tasked with preparing the resistance effort, should the worst happen.

But even as the foreign threat looms, it's rumours of a missing child that are troubling Cook. A twelve-year-old girl was evacuated from London and never seen again, and she's just the tip of the iceberg - countless evacuees haven't made it to their host families.

As Cook investigates, he uncovers a dark conspiracy that reaches to the highest ranks of society. He will do whatever it takes to make the culprits pay. There are some lines you just don't cross.

A completely gripping and unputdownable WWII thriller, perfect for fans of Rory Clements, Simon Scarrow and Kate Quinn.

Everyone is gripped by The Last Line:


'My God, this was great. It left me with a book hangover.I felt like I was there in 1940s England... I learned so much from this book... The writing is really 3D. You really feel like you're there. It's very immersive, and I love the witty humour. John Cook is a wonderful character' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'I felt like I was right in the action, helping to solve the murder and kidnapping... So full of action, suspense and thrills that it became a quick read and also an enjoyable one. The gunfight had me onthe edge of my seat at times, it was suspenseful, you couldn't tell who was going to make it out alive' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'What a fantastic read! Set during WWII, packed with action, history and wonderful characters, this is a must read for historical thriller enthusiasts but for those that like a good thriller as well!' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'One of the most unputdownable books I have read this year!... Fast paced mystery/thriller which caught me up in the narrative... I just didn't want to put this down!' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'John Cook is the Jack Reacher of 1940's Britain' Damien Lewis

'Breathtakingly tense action scenes and taut, intricately plotted storyline... A gripping, vividly atmospheric historical thriller' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Packed with action, superb characters and a real feel for the time and place for the setting... everything you would want from an intelligent war-time thriller' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A brilliant noir thriller set in the darkest days of the Second World War' Stephen Leather

'This is an absolute ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ read, great characters, great plot, gripping from start to finish... Once you start this you won't be able to stop' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wham, bam, lots of action man!... Deftly plotted with plenty of historical detail to keep the reader hooked. Superbly entertaining wartime thriller' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'This is one book that I didn't want to finish as it's full of plot twists and turns, red herrings, and a roller-coaster of a read!!' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A vivid sense of place with tension on every level... Dripped with historical detail and authenticity. I absolutely loved it!' Marion Todd

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781399721271
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A brilliant noir thriller set in the darkest days of the Second World War - Stephen Leather

Ronson delivers a cracking yarn, convincingly told. John Cook is the Jack Reacher of 1940s Britain - Damien Lewis, author of THE MINISTRY OF UNGENTLEMANLY WARFARE

A vivid sense of place with tension on every level, The Last Line dripped with historical detail and authenticity. I absolutely loved it - Marion Todd, author of SEE THEM RUN

A tough, taut wartime thriller that reads like a cross between Alastair MacLean and Lee Child and atmospherically conjures up the spectre of war, the threat of Nazi invasion and other evils uncomfortably close to home. Dad's Army, it ain't! - Robbie Morrison

Thrilling and intriguing in equal measure. Like Jack Reacher on the Home Front in WWII - Mason Cross

The pace is quick and the action keeps coming. With well-chosen prose, the author gives the reader a snapshot of English countryside during wartime, with victory gardens, makeshift landing strips in farmers' fields and railway platforms full of evacuated children. It was a page-turner and I couldn't get enough - SaltyGalReads

Addictively readable - Irish Independent

You may also be interested in...

Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Spring Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Pompeii
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Zone of Interest
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Nights at the Circus
Added to basket
Barnsey's Books

“A cracking read!”

First World War veteran John Cook has been tasked with establishing the resistance effort where he farms in the Sussex countryside. The Nazis have been advancing through Europe and an invasion along the southern... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Brilliant Debut WW2 Crime Thriller”

As my followers know, I’m heavily into World War Two novels and when I saw the blurb for The Last Line, I was immediately interested.

The Last Line is a fantastically written thriller set in Sussex during the early... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Outstanding”

Whenever I read a debut novel I do so with a little trepidation about what to expect, however, I do have a strong love for books set during both WW1 and WW2 so that had already piqued my interest.

The Last Line does... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: