And Now the Light is Everywhere (Hardback)
  • And Now the Light is Everywhere (Hardback)
zoom

And Now the Light is Everywhere (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£22.00
Hardback 480 Pages
Published: 07/03/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A vivid, involving and beautifully written story.' JOSEPH O'CONNOR
'A book that draws you in and holds you till the very end' ANNE GRIFFIN
'Sensitive and accurate . . . A page turner' JAMES ROBERTSON
'An eloquent novel . . . I was captivated' MARGOT LIVESEY

For fans of Ann Patchett, Maggie O'Farrell and Louise Kennedy comes And Now the Light is Everywhere: a breath-taking mystery and a soaring, beautifully written examination of love in all its guises.

******

Where does a story end and the truth begin?

Argyll, 1998.

Stories run deep in the MacArthur family, passed from generation to generation. Tales not just of selkies and changelings, but of the lives and deaths of the family themselves. Anna MacArthur has heard how her beautiful grandmother Netta boarded a ship for Canada after the war, leaving behind her young son Donnie, and was never seen again.

Now, fifty years after her disappearance, Anna accidentally pulls a loose thread in the story of Netta's fate, causing the tale of her vanishing to unravel completely. As Anna pieces together a far more disquieting version of events, she is also forced to examine her own memories of her father Donnie's death.

Yet the truth is sometimes bent and buried for a reason. And bringing to light what some have concealed for years may not be free of consequences . . .

'Classic story-telling bathed in a generous light . . . it moves so confidently between lives and epochs it easy not to realise at first how cleverly it's put together, how effectively the different stories intersect and echo. It's poignant and funny, and marks Lucy out as an exciting and ambitious writer of real talent.' ANDREW MILLER

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781399707466
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 730 g
Dimensions: 236 x 164 x 46 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A vivid, involving and beautifully written story. - Joseph O'Connor

Classic story-telling bathed in a generous light . . . it moves so confidently between lives and epochs it easy not to realise at first how cleverly it's put together, how effectively the different stories intersect and echo. It's poignant and funny, and marks Lucy out as an exciting and ambitious writer of real talent. - Andrew Miller

A book that draws you in and holds you till the very end. - Anne Griffin

And Now the Light is Everywhere is a page-turner, with a clever plot and a range of engaging characters, but there are deeper currents below the surface, carrying questions about time, families and their secrets, trust, betrayal and the nature and importance of storytelling itself. MacRae's writing is sensitive and accurate, rising to passages of brilliance at the right moments. A wonderfully accomplished first novel. - James Robertson

An eloquent novel. I was captivated by the story telling, the landscape, the brilliant dialogue and the wonderfully vivid characters - Margot Livesey

You may also be interested in...

Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Resurrection Walk
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Murder at the Monastery
Added to basket
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“A stunning debut novel”

Beautifully written. The family stories and secrets are revealed slowly, keeping you interested until the very end. A very enjoyable read.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Caledonian gothic!”

The McArthur family have lived in their small farmhouse for generations, eking out an existence and buoyed by family ties and secrets. When Arthur John dies, Anna returns to the family home and slowly starts piecing... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Family bonds and folk tales”

Set in Argyll Scotland 1998, and moving backwards and forwards in time, telling of the story, learning about the characters and how they fit into the storyline.
The MacArthurs, going back through the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: