This Vicious Grace (Hardback)
  • This Vicious Grace (Hardback)
zoom

This Vicious Grace (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 448 Pages
Published: 28/06/2022
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Her gift can save . . . or it can kill.

'Riveting, passionate, and full of high stakes danger' Tamora Pierce

Three weddings. Three funerals. Alessa's gift from the gods is supposed to magnify a partner's magic, not kill every suitor she touches.

Now, with only weeks left until a hungry swarm of demons devours everything on her island home, Alessa is running out of time to find a partner and stop the invasion. When a powerful priest convinces the faithful that killing Alessa is the island's only hope, her own soldiers try to assassinate her.

Desperate to survive, Alessa hires Dante, a cynical outcast marked as a killer, to become her personal bodyguard. But as rebellion explodes outside the gates, Dante's dark secrets may be the biggest betrayal. He holds the key to her survival and her heart, but is he the one person who can help her master her gift or destroy her once and for all?

Serpent & Dove meets The Bodyguard in this romantic, thrilling fantasy debut!

PRAISE FOR THIS VICIOUS GRACE

'A wonderfully fun time from start to finish' Hannah Whitten

'The perfect blend of humour and heart' Allison Saft

'This book is incredible' Lauren Blackwood

'Remarkably fresh' Ayana Gray

'Sure to be a favourite for fans of Stephanie Garber, Leigh Bardugo and Kerri Maniscalco' Lyndall Clipstone

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781399700115
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 720 g
Dimensions: 238 x 158 x 42 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Riveting, passionate, and full of high stakes danger - Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Remixing all the best parts of a dark fantasy and a romantic comedy, This Vicious Grace is a wonderfully fun time from start to finish, with lush, complex worldbuilding, intensely relatable characters, and relationships that are easy to root for - Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For The Wolf

Filled with witty banter, unlikely friendships, a swoon-worthy romance, and high stakes tension, Emily Thiede creates an immersive fantasy world inspired by the sun-drenched Amalfi coast that will captivate readers until the very last page. Sure to be a favourite for fans of Stephanie Garber, Leigh Bargudo, and Kerri Maniscalco - Lyndall Clipstone, author of Lakesedge

A richly imagined world featuring a slow burn, sizzling romance and a conflict that crackles with magic - Elle Cosimano, award-winning author of Seasons of the Storm

From the lush setting to dire stakes and whip-smart banter, This Vicious Grace is romantic, suspenseful, and utterly unforgettable - Sarah Glenn Marsh, author of the Reign of the Fallen series

The perfect blend of humor and heart, This Vicious Grace is a high-stakes romp that brims with deadly magic, sparkling chemistry, and the deep yearning for connection in an alienating world. Prepare to fall head-over-heels with Alessa and Dante! - Allison Saft, author of Down Comes the Night

This book is incredible! The banter, the romance, the tension! I couldn't get enough! - Lauren Blackwood, New York Times bestselling author of Within These Wicked Walls

A remarkably fresh debut, This Vicious Grace is an absolute delight from cover to cover. Its rich, transportive world sparkles on every page, and I was spirited away by Thiede's beautifully rendered cast. I would follow Alessa and Dante anywhere, and can't wait for their next adventure - Ayana Gray, New York Times bestselling author of Beasts of Prey

One of the best fantasies of the year - Buzzfeed

Thiede's dramatic and fantastical debut is artfully colored with Italian-inspired lore. - Kirkus

This Vicious Grace is a thrilling new fantasy that had me glued to the page! I loved the lush, Italian-inspired setting on the brink of apocalypse, and the brave found family who have to save it. Emily Thiede has written a terrific, fast-paced debut with the highest stakes, sharp twists, and a sizzling central romance between Alessa, a girl whose god-given gift has become a deadly curse; and Dante, the mysterious and handsome bodyguard who has to protect her from her own people. - Vanessa Len, author of Only a Monster

The complex and colourful world of the Finestra is delightfully rendered, all secret passages, religious fanatics and lemon-scented hot springs. Compulsively readable... It's especially recommended for fans of star-crossed romance - SFX

Gorgeously atmospheric and effortlessly romantic, This Vicious Grace is a high stakes story with a central duo you truly miss when the book ends - CultureFly

A delicious page-turner - The Irish Times

A hefty fantasy with irresistible echoes of Frozen - inews.co.uk

You may also be interested in...

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
A Tempest of Tea
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Divine Rivals
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl, Goddess, Queen
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Chalice of the Gods
Added to basket
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
idealpages

“I need the sequel ASAP!”

This Vicious Grace is an easily readable pageturner set in an intriguing world with likeable characters. This is the kind of story I enjoyed whilst reading it, but appreciate it more since finishing it.

Despite... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
Katsbookshelf

“Dante was my favorite thing about this book”

This Vicious Grace by Emily Thiede is the first book in the Last Finestra series.

Our protagonist Alessa is the current Finestra of her world. With that comes great power, but also a lot of responsibility as the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4
Millie Slingsby

“Fantastic writing style”

4.5

Thank you Netgalley and Hodder & Stoughton for the free eARC in exchange for an honest review!

Alessa is meant to be the saviour, but she keeps killing her Fontes - whose power she is meant to draw from in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: