Same As It Ever Was (Hardback)
  • Same As It Ever Was (Hardback)
zoom

Same As It Ever Was (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 512 Pages
Published: 18/07/2024
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Wry, moving and unerringly perceptive, Lombardo's beautifully wrought novel explores a woman's life in the round, as past decisions and dangerous acquaintances threaten to tear her family apart.

The author of The Most Fun We Ever Had returns with a brilliantly observed family drama, in which a long marriage faces imminent derailment from events both past and present.

At fifty-seven, Julia Ames has found herself with an improbably lovely life. Despite her inclination towards self-sabotage, she has a husband she loves, two happy children and a quiet, contented existence in the suburbs.

But, out of the blue, things begin to change.

Her always well-behaved son, Ben, is acting strangely, and will soon make a shocking announcement.

Her beloved but belligerent teenage daughter is about to depart for college, leaving Julia unexpectedly terrified of an empty nest.

And, in the local grocery store, Julia encounters a woman she hasn't seen for 20 years - a woman whose friendship was once both her lifeline and, very nearly, her downfall.

Consumed with her checkered past and the chaos of her present, Julia starts to spin out of control, at risk of destroying all she most loves.

Following Julia over the course of a few tumultuous months, bookended by a birthday party and a wedding, and examining the fifty-plus years before, Same as It Ever Was examines the complete and complicated trajectory of one woman's life and asks what it takes to make - and to not break - a family.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781399608213
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 760 g
Dimensions: 238 x 158 x 48 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Witty and insightful. A powerful exploration of marriage, motherhood, and self - Bonnie Garmus, author of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY

It was such a pleasure to bury myself in this book, a literary novel of family life which moved and surprised me. Claire Lombardo creates such interesting characters and predicaments and manipulates the revelations and emotional bombshells so expertly that you read on ravenously - Clare Chambers, author of SMALL PLEASURES

This is such a wonderful book: unsentimental yet full of feeling, with such sharply-written, loving and generous characterisation. It has everything I adore in a novel. I finished it in floods of tears, and had to sit for a minute or two to pull myself together. It absolutely floored me. What a joy to let a writer of such talent suffuse us with a life's worth of humour and pain, affection and mess! - Jessie Burton, author of THE MINIATURIST

A big American novel to get totally lost in. Rich and compelling and funny and true - Claire Powell, author of AT THE TABLE

Pitch-perfect. . . Lombardo is compulsively readable and consistently funny, and it's impossible to look away as Julia continues to self-sabotage. This domestic drama hits all the right notes - Publisher’s Weekly (Starred Review)

A family saga to save as a treat and devour when you should be doing something else, in which events past and present upset a long marriage - Independent

Lombardo loves her characters, taking time to peel back each of their layers through the time-lapse structure of the novel and her rich descriptions. . . A sure bet for fans of Richard Russo and Jane Smiley - Booklist

Sparkling. . . Readers will be torn between their instinct to race to the finish and their desire to savour every page - Publisher’s Weekly Summer Reads

You may also be interested in...

The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Kairos
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: