Ts&Cs apply
Psyche and Eros (Paperback)
  • Psyche and Eros (Paperback)
zoom

Psyche and Eros (Paperback)

(author)
? RRP £9.99
£8.49
Save £1.50 (15%)
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 01/02/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Madeline Miller and Jennifer Saint, Psyche and Eros retells the great Ancient Greek love story with sweeping, page-turning aplomb.

The god of love has finally met his match.

Born into an era of heroes, a prophecy claims that Psyche - Princess of Mycenae - will defeat a monster feared even by the gods themselves. Rebelling against society's traditions, she spends her youth mastering blade and bow, preparing to fulfil her destiny.

But she is soon caught up in powers beyond her control, when the jealous Aphrodite sends the God of Desire, Eros, to deliver a fatal love-curse. The last thing Eros wants is to become involved in the chaos of the mortal world, but when he is pricked by the very arrow intended for Psyche, he is doomed to love a woman who will be torn from him the moment their eyes meet.

Thrown together by fate, headstrong Psyche and world-weary Eros will face challenges greater than they could have ever imagined. And as the Trojan War begins and the whole of the heavens try to keep them apart, will they find their way back to each other before it's too late?

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781398712867
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 247 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Luna McNamara's sweeping retelling of Eros and Psyche adds a gorgeous lustre and depth to a beloved myth. Every page is a breathless, swoonworthy adventure proving that in the hands of a talented storyteller, ancient tales always have something new to offer - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Tale of the Flower Bride

Fiercely feminist and deeply romantic, Psyche and Eros has the allure of an old fable and the epic quality of ancient myth, tinged with a provocative, modern wit - Ava Reid, bestselling author of The Wolf and the Woodsman

Psyche and Eros refigures for our times a classic tale of disguise and revelation, of improbable passion tested by fate - Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of WICKED

Evocative and lyrically spun, Luna McNamara's Psyche and Eros is a pure delight. Bright as a constellation on a moonless night, this reimagining limns the ancient myth while also granting us vibrant insight into the hearts of both Psyche and Eros. Romantic, poignant, and spellbinding - Rebecca Ross, #1 internationally bestselling author of A River Enchanted

Delightful . . . A tender, meditative, bittersweet tale of one of literature's most ancient themes: love unfolding through self-discovery in the face of death - Maya Deane, author of Wrath Goddess Sing

Fiercely feminist and deeply romantic, Psyche and Eros has the allure of an old fable and the epic quality of ancient myth, tinged with a provocative, modern wit - Ava Reid

A beautiful retelling, breathing new life into a beloved myth. Luna McNamara weaves an enthralling tale of adventure, romance, and star-crossed lovers, in an enchanting world of ancient gods and legends - Sue Lynn Tan, bestselling author of Daughter of the Moon Goddess

You may also be interested in...

Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Ministry of Time
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Blue Sisters
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“When a mortal princess taught the God of Desire how to love”

It’s safe to say that I enjoyed every page of this book. Not only do you get a beautiful retelling of the timeless love story between Psyche and Eros but also the love that ripples through all aspects of life. Well... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Just Love-ly”

Thank you so much to Orion for the reading copy. Although you won't be surprised to find a love story at the heart of a tale about the deity of desire, Psyche adds in a heroic element. I adored the glimpses of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Finally a happy Greek myth retelling!”

Eros, the god of love, has been around since before the Olympians, when the Titans still ruled the world. He didn't take part in the big revolution and has been living quietly on his own while many of the Greek... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: