The Excitements (Hardback)
  • The Excitements (Hardback)
zoom

The Excitements (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
? RRP £18.99
£16.99
Save £2.00 (11%)
Hardback 352 Pages
Published: 18/01/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

This irresistible slice of cosy adventure perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club sees two nonagenarian World War II veterans embroiled in high-spirited intrigue and mystery in Paris.

Revenge is a dish best served old.

Meet the Williamson sisters, Britain's most treasured World War II veterans. Now in their nineties, Josephine and Penny are in demand, popping up at commemorative events all over the country. Despite their age, they're in great form-sprightly and sparky, and always in search of their next "excitement." This time it's a trip to Paris to receive the Légion d'honneur, accompanied by their devoted great-nephew, Archie.

Keen historian Archie believes his great aunts had minor roles in the Women's Royal Navy and the First Aid Nursing Yeomanry, but that's only half the story. There's a reason sweet Auntie Penny can dispatch a would-be mugger with a brolly. This trip to Paris is not what it seems either. Scandal and crime have quietly trailed the sisters since the war. Now armed with new information about an old adversary, these much decorated (but admittedly ancient) veterans intend to settle scores, avenge lost friends, and pull off one last heist before the curtain comes down on their illustrious careers.

A charming, uplifting and cosy mystery about two national treasures hiding official secrets and double lives - perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781398711839
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 574 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 34 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The List of Suspicious Things
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Murder After the Night Before
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Very Lively Murder
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Hugely enjoyable and highly recommended!”

Absolutely loved this exciting quirky very British tale.
Archie absolutely adores his great great aunts Penny and Josephine. The two Williamson sisters had very different experiences during the Second World War,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Brilliant, amusing and interesting”

I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when I read this for discussion with my online book club (TBConFB) however jumped straight in. At first it seemed a little boring, recounting the early days of what appear to be... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“These ladies bring mayhem in their wake but with a delightful sparkle and some gusto!”

A tale that spans decades of deceit & secrets with a sly grin. The joie de vivre of Josephine and Penny is joyous, their sheer defiance of the perceptions of women during war and the battle against time is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: