What Time is Love? (Paperback)
  • What Time is Love? (Paperback)
zoom

What Time is Love? (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 16/02/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'It's the new One Day' FABULOUS
'Delightful, insightful and immersive' KATE EBERLEN
'Invigorating [and] fascinating' GUARDIAN
'Holly's beautiful prose smoulders, crackles and roars' DAISY BUCHANAN

1947. 1967. 1987.
When Violet and Albert first meet, they are always twenty.

Three decades.
Over the years, Violet and Albert's lives collide again and again: beneath Oxford's spires, on the rolling hills around Abergavenny, in stately homes and in feminist squats. And as each decade ends, a new love story begins...

Two people.
Together, they are electric and the world is glittering with possibility. But against the shifting times of each era, Violet and Albert must overcome differences in class, gender, privilege and ambition. Each time their lives entwine, it will change everything.

One moment is all it takes...
As their eyes first meet, for a split-second it's as if the clocks have stopped. Nothing else matters. Yet whichever decade brings them together, Violet and Albert are soon forced to question: what if they met the right person at the wrong time?

A sweeping, nostalgic and dazzlingly immersive love story, perfect for fans of The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett, Miss You by Kate Eberlen and Normal People by Sally Rooney.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781398706316
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 279 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A startlingly great debut. Holly's beautiful prose smoulders, crackles and roars, but it's the storytelling that really astonishes. Propulsive, immersive, a book you can really live in. This book is masterfully crafted, brilliantly socially observed, but most of all it's a dazzlingly and painfully resonant exploration of the way women live, and how our freedom must be cherished and protected. - Daisy Buchanan

What Time is Love? is not only a beautifully told love story but also a fascinating account of the changing social mores of the 20th century. I found it delightful, insightful and immersive. - Kate Eberlen

A unique and wonderfully crafted debut, What Time Is Love? has it all - nostalgia and romance, captivating characters and stunning prose. It's a truly tender, thought-provoking exploration of what makes a relationship work - and of how, when it comes to love, timing is sometimes everything. An unforgettable story with writing that sparkles: a gem of a read. - Holly Miller

Holly Williams has written a stunning, skilful, deftly drawn, cockle-warmer of a novel that somehow sweeps you through half a century while feeling like a leisurely afternoon. Prose so good I couldn't stop underlining. - Lauren Bravo

A fiercely original novel on the powerful effect circumstance and timing has on life, on love. A brave and astute write on politics, with feisty and complex protagonists in Albert and Violet, What Time Is Love? skilfully excavates the great questions of our modern age; the battle for equality, the difficulty that is marriage and the inter-generational effects of class on the individual. A wonderful, original and powerful debut by the very talented Holly Williams. She is wild and brilliant. - Elaine Feeney

Heartwarming - BELLA

A clever concept that casts a light on the different social mores of changing times, but remains a love story at its heart - BEST

An invigorating debut - THE OBSERVER

An engaging debut [that] asks an eternal question: what if you meet the right person at the wrong time? - DAILY MAIL

The debut novel from arts journalist Holly Williams is already being compared to David Nicholls' One Day - EVENING STANDARD

You may also be interested in...

The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Antarctica
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
This Family
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: