Ts&Cs
apply
Wet Paint (Hardback)
  • Wet Paint (Hardback)
zoom

Wet Paint (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 14/04/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'This isn't a book you read, but a book you step into . . . mesmerising' Emma Gannon

Since the death of her best friend Grace, twenty-six-year-old Eve has learned to keep everything and everyone at arm's length. Safe in her detachment, she scrapes along waiting tables and cleaning her shared flat in exchange for cheap rent, finding solace in her small routines.

But when a chance encounter at work brings her past thundering into her present, Eve becomes consumed by painful memories of Grace. And soon her precariously maintained life begins to unravel: she loses her job, gets thrown out of her flat, and risks pushing away the one decent man who cares about her.

Taking up life-modelling to pay the bills, Eve lays bare her body but keeps hidden the mounting chaos inside her head. When her self-destructive urges spiral out of control, she's forced to confront the traumatic event that changed the course of her life, and to finally face her grief and guilt.

Perfect for fans of Sally Rooney's Conversations with Friends, Raven Leilani's Luster, and Ottessa Moshfegh's My Year of Rest and Relaxation.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781398702981
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 41 g
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This isn't a book you read, but a book you step into. Chloe Ashby has created a mesmerising and energetic world of grief, art and self discovery. I loved Eve and spending time with her on every page. * Emma Gannon, author of Olive *
An utterly absorbing story of art, friendship, love, and loss. Perfect for fans of Anna Hope's Expectation but very much its own tender, dark, funny, vivid thing. * Lydia Ruffles, author of The Taste of Blue Light *

In this poised, heartfelt debut, Ashby paints a raw, richly-detailed portrait of untethered youth, friendship and suppressed grief.

* Olivia Sudjic, author of Asylum Road *
Dark, witty and totally compelling. * Laura Kay, author of The Split *

Wet Paint is a brilliant, heart-rending novel that explores grief and loss with expert precision. Beautifully written and exquisitely told, this story is delicate, powerful and honest all at once. This is an unforgettable novel, and I'll read anything Chloe Ashby writes.

* Lucia Osborne-Crowley, author of My Body Keeps Your Secrets *

You may also be interested in...

Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Go Tell the Bees that I Am Gone
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.