Breaststrokes (Hardback)
  • Breaststrokes (Hardback)
zoom

Breaststrokes (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 09/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A novel on consent told in five acts over the course of one weekend.

Cloe and Gertrude and the Jenkins-Bell sisters, Mathilde and Sarah, have never met. They are strangers who share a city.
 
It is Sunday morning. Cloe has woken-up in someone else’s home; Gertrude starts her shift in the pub kitchen, while Mathilde and Sarah are on their way to lunch.

Soon, these four women’s lives will overlap.

Saturday felt like a normal day, but on Sunday the past will catch-up with them as they realise that there never is only one side to a story.

Sharply observed and painfully relatable, Breaststrokes is a novel that seems to emerge from the haze of our current time. This story of unexpected encounters and intimacies is perfect for fans of Cleopatra and Frankenstein and Beautiful World, Where Are You.

'A study of womanhood, vulnerability, and the secrecy of the inner-life. Vialleron’s writing is laced with a love for these women who can barely love themselves. A novel for anyone interested in the way the body keeps score or in the complex intimacies between women' Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

'A tender, lyrical novel about the ripples caused when consent is taken away from women and the loneliness this causes, even when you're surrounded by people. It will tug at your heart strings’ Araminta Hall

'Reading Breaststrokes felt a little like watching ribbons unfurl – or intertwine. Margaux Vialleron writes tenderly and evocatively about female friendship, fear and desire' Chloë Ashby, author of Wet Paint and Second Self    
 

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781398525771
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Breaststrokes is a study of womanhood, vulnerability, and the secrecy of the inner-life. Vialleron’s writing is laced with a love for these women who can barely love themselves. A novel for anyone interested in the way the body keeps score or in the complex intimacies between women’ - Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

‘Reading Breaststrokes felt a little like watching ribbons unfurl – or intertwine. Margaux Vialleron writes tenderly and evocatively about female friendship, fear and desire’ - Chloë Ashby, author of Wet Paint and Second Self

‘Timely, structurally inventive, with delicious prose. A deep-dive into what consent - in all its forms - actually means, in a modern young woman’s life, and into what happens when you pair ideas of pleasure and consent. A joy in its originality, Vialleron lights up the inner lives and perspectives of four women across a day. There’s a question at the heart of Breaststrokes that you feel compelled to find the answer to’ - Pip Finkemeyer, author of Sad Girl Novel

'Breaststrokes is a tender, lyrical novel about the ripples caused when consent is taken away from women and the loneliness this causes, even when you're surrounded by people. It will tug at your heart strings’  - Araminta Hall

'Breaststrokes by Margaux Vialleron is a poignant and empowering novel that dives deep into consent, womanhood, vulnerability, and the intricacies of our hidden selves. Through candid storytelling in five acts over the course of one weekend, four women are brought together. From the highs of triumphing over adversity to the lows of confronting societal prejudices, this is thought provoking and relatable, written in lyrical prose. The characters are layered, fleshed out and so well written, they will feel like old friends at the end of reading this book' - Glamour Magazine

You may also be interested in...

Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Kala
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Added to basket
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Brotherless Night
Added to basket
Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop
Added to basket
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Required reading: a compelling discussion of consent”

Thank you to Netgalley and Simon and Schuster UK for allowing me to read Breaststrokes by Margaux Vialleron.

This novel shares the stories of four women: Cloe, Gertrude, and two sisters: Mathilde, and Sarah. Over... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: