All The Houses I've Ever Lived In: Finding Home in a System that Fails Us (Hardback)
  • All The Houses I've Ever Lived In: Finding Home in a System that Fails Us (Hardback)
zoom

All The Houses I've Ever Lived In: Finding Home in a System that Fails Us (Hardback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 27/04/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Mixing memoir with social commentary and perfect for fans of Poverty Safari and The Social Distance Between Us, Kieran Yates' powerful and perceptive book is an intimate, unflinching examination of the UK's chaotic housing system.

By the age of twenty-five journalist Kieran Yates had lived in twenty different houses across the country, from council estates in London to car showrooms in rural Wales.

And in that time, between a series of evictions, mouldy flats and bizarre house-share interviews, the reality of Britain's housing crisis grew more and more difficult to ignore.

In prose that sparkles with humour and warmth, Yates charts the heartbreaks and joys of a life spent navigating the chaos of the housing system.

She exposes the issues underpinning the crisis, from the state's neglect of social housing to the rental rat race, and the disproportionate toll these take on the most marginalised in society. Drawing on interviews with tenants across the country and the stories behind our interiors, she explores the unexpected ways we can fight back - finding beauty in the wreckage of a broken system, friendships in cramped housing conditions, and home even in the most fragile circumstances.

All the Houses I've Ever Lived In is at once a rallying cry for change and a love letter to home in all its forms.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781398509832
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘I believe that Kieran Yates was born to write, but crucially, to write this vital piece of work. I tore through the pages . . . A book I’ll read over and over again’  - Candice Carty-Williams, author of 'Queenie'

'A beautiful exposition of home and what it means. Yates infuses such gentle care and humanity into the exploration of race, the failings of society and government … Stunning' - Bolu Babalola, author of 'Love in Colour'

‘I read this in two sittings . . . it’s so incisive it’s hard to put down’ - Pandora Sykes

'Wholly transportive and informative. With every home visited, you will leave feeling like a welcomed guest, a deeply concerned neighbour or probably both' - Clara Amfo

'A moving and urgent exposé of the housing crisis' - Laura Bates, founder of the Everyday Sexism Project

'Intimate and fascinating. Both a memoir and a social commentary of Britain' - Annie Macmanus

'Warm and funny. A powerful call to action against bad landlords, gentrification and class inequality in Britain' - Symeon Brown, author of 'Get Rich or Lie Trying'

Vital. Everyone should read it - Vicky Spratt, author of 'Tenants'

‘Skilfully combines memoir, case studies and histories of design with harrowing facts and figures. There’s a sense of humour, too, but deep down a rage that reverberates throughout. Illuminating, thoughtfully written and damning'  - Observer

‘A powerful, personal and intricate tour of our housing system … exposing who it works for and who it doesn’t’ - Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP

‘Yates writes with clarity, warmth and passion and leaves the reader wanting to march on Whitehall immediately’   - Nikesh Shukla

‘This book is so special. Kieran writes with warmth and joy . . . manages to have taught me ten million things while also making me fall in love with Kieran and her family - weaving together activism with storytelling in the most gorgeous way’ - Ione Gamble, author of 'Poor Little Sick Girls'

‘Skewers the housing crisis with clear-sighted fury. [Her] warmth and intimacy breathes new life into the horror show statistics. Yates manages the unthinkable: she makes the housing crisis funny, or at least as funny as it can get’  - i

‘So relatable . . . injects a glorious dose of love and joy and hope. This is what is so special about All The Houses I’ve Ever Lived In: the side notes of kindness and community, told with beauty, folded between the pages’ - Big Issue

‘Yates is best when observing detail: the gold-coloured plastic tissue boxes beloved of diasporan Indian households; the houseplants favoured by her fellow millennials; the “anonymous boys in Calvin Klein boxers” in her house-share kitchen . . . symbols of belonging in a disjointed life’  - New Statesman

'This book needs to be pressed into a lot of hands’ - Joel Golby, UnHerd

'A clarion call for housing justice and a damning indictment of the policy failures of successive governments. But it is also an invitation to consider more imaginative questions about how we should organise not only our housing, but our lives'   - Prospect

‘Seething with rage. It is also immensely readable, and at times even funny – something I wouldn’t have thought possible’  - Spectator

'Both a beautifully written, moving memoir and a stufy in how the housing crisis makes and often breaks us' - Peter Apps, prizewinning author of 'Show Me the Bodies: How We Let Grenfell Happen'

You may also be interested in...

Urban Grimshaw and The Shed Crew
Added to basket
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
Housing
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
All That Is Solid
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
Stuart
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Unsettled
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Grass Arena
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Gift of Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket

“must read”

This book is very informative and insightful!

As someone who grew up in a council state in my home country, the book's beginning was highly relatable. Do you know what is like to live in a 13-story building with... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“A revealing journey through our housing system”

A engrossing account of Kieran Yates’ experience within throughout our fraught housing market. We move with her as she recounts the close-knit communities of Southall to the increasingly gentrified suburbs of South... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Interesting and current.”

A well written book, full of passion and knowledge. Parts of her experience I found extremely relatable, having had a wide range of renting experiences throughout my life. The little details noted to illustrate... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: