Maddalena and the Dark: A sweeping gothic fairytale about a dark magic that rumbles beneath the waters of Venice (Paperback)
  • Maddalena and the Dark: A sweeping gothic fairytale about a dark magic that rumbles beneath the waters of Venice (Paperback)
zoom

Maddalena and the Dark: A sweeping gothic fairytale about a dark magic that rumbles beneath the waters of Venice (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 304 Pages
Published: 28/03/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A darkness takes shape beneath the waters of Venice . . .
and somewhere in the Ospedale della Pietà,
there are two girls breathing beside each other,
legs entwined.

'Enchanting and suspenseful' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'Rich and heartbreaking' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'A lush, decadent fairytale' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Maddalena and the Dark is an opulent and sensuous Venetian fairytale, full of music, magic, passion, and betrayal, perfect for fans of Bunny, A Study in Drowning, and The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue.

'[A] beguiling fairy tale' VANITY FAIR (A Best Book of Summer)

'Enchanted...A slow-burn gothic novel that will make you lose track of your surroundings . . . An atmospheric banger' LITHUB

'Fine beguiles with this decadent tale of desire . . . With the alluring Venice backdrop, this will frighten and captivate in equal measure' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, starred review

************************

Venice, 1717. Before Maddalena arrived at the Ospedale della Pietà, Venice's most illustrious music school, fifteen-year-old orphan Luisa has only wanted one thing: to be the best at violin. Luisa is good at violin, but she is not the best. She has peers, but she does not have friends. Until Maddalena.

Sent to the Pietà until her noble family can find her a husband, Maddalena is cunning, passionate, and unlike anyone Luisa has ever met. Maddalena can promise the world to Luisa, and when she does, their fates intertwine.

But Maddalena has made a dangerous wager and, for both girls, there will be an unimaginable price to pay.

'Maddalena and the Dark is chocolate laced with poison. To read it is to fall under an enchantment . . . A sweeping, dark fairy tale about the violent hearts of teenage girls' KATIE GUTIERREZ

'A sumptuous feast of a novel, rich and strange and heady. Julia Fine is an extraordinary writer' KELLY LINK

'From its first sentence, this novel curled its crooked little witch's finger around my heart and still hasn't let go' AMY JO BURNS

'A tense, slow-burning portrait of how desire too easily tangles with envy and the price we pay when we get what we want' ISLE McELROY

'An ecstatic, immersive, layered and astonishingly rendered depiction of girlhood, ambition, violence, art, and desire' LYNN STEGER STRONG

'Beautiful, suspenseful, sensuous, real. If you love music or Venice, or if you've ever simply been a young girl aching for womanhood, this is the book for you. Reading this felt like indulging in a secret, in the best way' AJA GABEL

'Maddalena and the Dark is the book of my dreams - a feverish, intimate story of obsession and ambition, set in Venice's shadowy canals and glittering palazzos' SARA SLIGAR

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781035408030
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Maddalena and the Dark is chocolate laced with poison. To read it is to fall under an enchantment . . . Julia Fine is a writer of ferocious talent and originality, and . . . she has crafted a sweeping, dark fairy tale about the violent hearts of teenage girls. I loved it from the first sentence to the astonishing final lines - Katie Gutierrez

From its first sentence, this novel curled its crooked little witch's finger around my heart and still hasn't let go . . . Maddalena and the Dark completely seduced me with its menace, and it is undoubtedly Fine's best yet - Amy Jo Burns

Maddalena and the Dark is a tense, slow-burning portrait of how desire too easily tangles with envy and the price we pay when we get what we want . . . Maddalena and the Dark is a book to be savored, felt, and reread - Isle McElroy

Maddalena and the Dark is an ecstatic, immersive, layered and astonishingly rendered depiction of girlhood, ambition, violence, art, and desire - Lynn Steger Strong

Maddalena and the Dark is the book of my dreams - a feverish, intimate story of obsession and ambition, set in Venice's shadowy canals and glittering palazzos, with an ending that still keeps me up at night. Fine's writing is magnetic and unstoppable. I can't stop talking to people about this book! - Sara Sligar

You may also be interested in...

Odd Spirits
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
House of Flame and Shadow
Added to basket
Tress of the Emerald Sea
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
All The Devils
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
Added to basket
Blood Over Bright Haven
Added to basket
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Katabasis
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Natasha

“Satisfyingly atmospheric and perfect for fans of gothic fiction or magical realism”

4.5 Stars
Addie LaRue meets The Last Tale of The Flower Bride in this decadently rich and atmospheric tale of desire, ambition, obsession and betrayal that slow-burn, gothic fantasy lovers are sure to enjoy.

If... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Love it”

Set in Venice, 1717. It has been narrated in the span of four seasons and has dual POV. Maddalena was sent to Ospedale Pietà which has been in Venice since fourteenth century and it cultivates the best young... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A slow-burner”

"Maddalena and the Dark" by Julia Fine is a bit of a slow-grower in terms of plot and likeability. I was going to rate it a 3 but it picked up towards the end, hence my improved rating. Interesting story... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: