The Murder Weekend: Everyone has a role to play - but what's real and what's part of the game? (Paperback)
  • The Murder Weekend: Everyone has a role to play - but what's real and what's part of the game? (Paperback)
zoom

The Murder Weekend: Everyone has a role to play - but what's real and what's part of the game? (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 06/09/2022
  • In stock

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

Welcome to the Crooner Estate. We know your stay will be deadly fun.

A remote hotel. A murder mystery. A missing woman. Everyone has a role to play, but what's real and what's part of the game?

A twisty and fiendishly clever novel, perfect for fans of The Guest List and Knives Out.

'A super-fun pastiche with a wicked smart plot peppered with clever clues and compelling characters' ELLERY LLOYD

'Clue meets Shari Lapena's An Unwanted Guest . . . Such a fun read!' GEORGINA CROSS

'Jilly Gagnon's well-crafted maze of clues and shifting realities is the perfect read for fans of Lucy Foley . . . mind-bending fun!' WENDY WALKER

Published in the USA as All Dressed Up.

Early readers love it!


'This was a really good read with a fantastically creepy atmosphere . . . I really enjoyed it and now I want to take part in a murder mystery at a country hotel' reader review

'This was a brilliantly fun book to read . . . With such an addictive plot you will enjoy this if you're a fan of locked room mysteries!' reader review

'Wow, what a book . . . I could not put it down. Would definitely recommend' reader review
....................................

The weekend getaway at the gorgeous manor hotel should have been perfect. But Becca is freshly smarting from her husband Blake's betrayal and knows this is just an expensive attempt at an apology. She may not be ready to forgive him, but the drinks are strong, the estate is stunning, and the weekend has an elaborate 1920s murder mystery theme. She decides to get into the spirit of things and enjoy their stay. What could go wrong?

Before long, the game is afoot: famed speakeasy songstress Ida Crooner is found 'murdered', and it's up to the guests to sniff out which of them might be the culprit. Playing the role of Miss Debbie Taunte, an ingenue with a dark past, Becca dives into the world of pun-heavy clues, hammy acting, and secret passages, hoping to at least take her mind off her marital troubles.

Then, the morning after they arrive, the actress playing Ida's maid fails to reappear for her role. The game's organizer - that's Miss Ann Thrope to you - assumes the young woman's flakiness is to blame, but when snooping for clues as 'Debbie', Becca finds evidence she may not have left of her own free will.
....................................

'Classic Agatha Christie goes meta in this wish-we'd-thought-of-it premise: a real whodunnit set against the backdrop of a 1920s-themed murder mystery weekend. Think Knives Out all dolled up as The Great Gatsby' ELLERY LLOYD

'Gagnon invites readers inside one seriously wicked little game with this utterly satisfying mystery. I didn't stop second-guessing myself until the very last page' KIERAN SCOTT

'With a deliciously creepy setting and juicy interpersonal intrigue, deftly weaves the search for a missing woman with a nuanced exploration of a marriage on the brink' SARAH ZACHRICH JENG

'I felt as if I was in the middle of a murder-mystery game and playing along with the characters' GEORGINA CROSS

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781035400379
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Treacle Walker
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Virgin Suicides
Added to basket
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A murder weekend like no other!”

Really great murder mystery. Everyone is following the clues and immersing themselves in their parts, when one of the actors disappears. Is this part of the plot? With complicated relationships and no-one knowing what... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.