The Dust Never Settles (Hardback)
  • The Dust Never Settles (Hardback)
zoom

The Dust Never Settles (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 07/10/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A breath-taking writer of singular voice.' Patrick Flanery, author of Absolution

A hauntingly beautiful debut for fans of Isabel Allende and Kazuo Ishiguro

The yellow walls of Anais' family home loom over the sprawling city of Lima. When she left Peru and moved to London, she dared to hope she might have left the echoing voices of her ancestors behind - voices that reverberate through the corridors of the family mansion. But now she must return to Peru to organise the sale of the house, submerging herself once more in the constant whispers of her deceased relatives.

What begins as an uneasy homecoming soon becomes a reckoning with secrets that refuse to stay buried, in this gorgeously atmospheric debut from an unforgettable new literary voice.

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9780861540440
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A sorcerer walks through these pages weaving time past and time present into a Scheherazadean swirl. This is a mesmerising feat of imagination and a masterful debut.'

-- Paul Lynch, author of Irish Novel of the Year winner, Grace

'Captivating and epic in scale, sumptuously imagined, with a wry and generous vision of human frailty, Lickorish Quinn's magnificent debut enchants from first page to last. This is a novel that takes seriously the claims of history-of colonialism and slavery in particular-tracing their reverberations across the centuries and into the present. It is a work of astonishing empathy and expansiveness, a story that bends spacetime to take us on a journey towards a place and an hour where redemption might prove possible. Working at the intersection of languages and cultures, the global north and the global south, Lickorish Quinn is a breath-taking writer of singular voice.'

-- Patrick Flanery, author of Absolution

'Karina Lickorish Quinn is the new face of magic realism. She has given it, through Anais, a female body and soul... She makes it sing, she makes it work and she has built a world that stands on its own three feet. Like its title, The Dust Never Settles will stay floating inside the reader, impossible to forget or unsee.'

-- Laia Jufresa, author of Umami

You may also be interested in...

The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Scabby Queen
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Here and Now
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Grown Ups
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Because of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd.
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.