Wahala (Hardback)
  • Wahala (Hardback)
zoom

Wahala (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 06/01/2022
  • 10+ in stock

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Three mixed-race friends navigate frustrated hopes and thwarted love in modern London, as a single terrible act threatens to spin their lives out of control in this darkly funny and scalpel sharp debut perfect for fans of Queenie and Expectation.

Ronke, Simi, Boo are three mixed-race friends living in London. They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English. Not all of them choose to see it that way.

Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future. Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again.

When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them. Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking. When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself.

Explosive, hilarious and wildly entertaining, this razor-sharp tale of love, race and family will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror. Fearlessly political about class, colourism and clothes, the spellbinding Wahala is for anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780857527783
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 498 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'I have a feeling this book is going to be huge! It examines friendships that are held together by the thinnest of threads, all the doubts and questions that come from the choices women face, self-destruction, good intentions, bad intentions and a creeping sense of... well, trouble.' - Marianne Cronin, author of The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

'Bold, juicy and real! Wahala is tense and powerful, it's friendship at its best and its worst, and it's THE book to read this year!' - Lauren North, author of Safe at Home

'Dazzling and bursting with life. Wahala is as joyous, complex and all-encompassing as female friendship itself. I loved it.' - Tammy Cohen, author of The Wedding Party

'Wahala hooked me from page one and kept me enthralled till the (twist!) end. A riot of colour and noise, friendships, enemies, secrets, lies and soul food. Written with a lightness of touch. Insightful, clever, and honest. I will read anything and everything she writes.' - Ericka Waller, author of Dog Days

'Wow, what a debut! I was left wanting more - more of Ronke, Boo and Simi and more of Nikki's brilliant writing about food and friendship. Warm and fun, I loved watching the more sinister side to the story emerge. Fantastic!' - Sarah Pearse author of The Sanatorium

'Wildly entertaining.' - The Bookseller

'I couldn't get enough of the four women at the heart of Nikki May's utterly winning debut novel, Wahala. Every evening, I sank into my bubble bath, eager to return to the lives of May's deep and complex characters. Their loves and wahala ('trouble') brought to mind Sex and the City but felt more modern, more real. When I closed Nikki May's delicious, hilarious novel, I knew it was time to call my friends...time to get into some good wahala of my own.' - Amanda Eyre Ward author of The Jetsetters

You may also be interested in...

The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lessons
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Brilliant Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy... I wasn't entirely sure what to expect from it.
It had been compared to a few recent and very popular books, some of which I had read... but still I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Fun, fast paced, shocking - this will be huge in 2022”

This is the extremely dramatic debut from Nikki May and there’s already quite a buzz about this book due out in January 2022 as it’s set to be turned into a major TV series. The story is told in alternating chapters... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Great Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy… I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from it.
It had been compared to a few recent and very popular books, some of which I had read… but still I wasn’t entirely... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.