Control Point: A thrilling military fantasy to set your pulse racing - Shadow Ops (Paperback)
  • Control Point: A thrilling military fantasy to set your pulse racing - Shadow Ops (Paperback)
zoom

Control Point: A thrilling military fantasy to set your pulse racing - Shadow Ops (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 16/08/2012
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Army Officer. Fugitive. Sorcerer.

In every nation, people are waking up with magical talents that are sending the world to war. Bringing order to a world gone mad won't be easy for Oscar Britton in Myke Cole's mile-a-minute Control Point, winner of the 2013 Compton Crook Award. The Shadow Ops series is the perfect read for fans of Peter V. Brett and Patrick Rothfuss.

'Black Hawk Down meets the X-Men... Military fantasy like you've never seen it before' - Peter V. Brett, author of The Desert Spear

All over the world people are 'coming up latent' - developing new and terrifying abilities. Untrained and pan-icked, they are summoning storms, raising the dead, and setting every-thing they touch ablaze.

US Army Lieutenant Oscar Britton has always done his duty, even when it means working alongside the feared Supernatural Operations Corps, hunting down and taking out those with newfound magical talents. But when he manifests a rare, startling power of his own and finds himself a marked man, all bets are off.

On the run from his former colleagues, Britton is driven into an underground shadow world, where he is about to learn that magic has changed all the rules he's ever known ... and that his life isn't the only thing he's fighting for.

What readers are saying about Control Point:

'A gripping thrill-ride from the first page to the last. A great story with brilliant characters including our hero Oscar Britton'

'As a lover of action and the fantasy genre, this was a perfect read and one that promises much to come'

'Myke Cole lets loose with a vivid imagination overlaying genuine military experience that forms the foundation of the tale. Excellent, fast-paced fun'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755393978
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 296 g
Dimensions: 201 x 131 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A mile-a-minute story of someone trying to find purpose in a war he never asked for' * Jack Campbell, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Fleet series *
'Black Hawk Down meets the X-Men ... military fantasy like you've never seen it before' * Peter V. Brett *
'Hands down, the best military fantasy I've ever read ... a chilling, enthralling story. Myke Cole just might be a wizard himself' * Ann Aguirre, bestselling author of Enclave *

You may also be interested in...

Tales from the Cafe
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
A Game of Thrones (Reissue)
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Court of Miracles
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
your name., Vol. 1
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“First Class!”

Control Point is a brilliant blend of military SF and Fantasy fiction. Think Andy McNab meets Trudi Canavan.

I read it in two sittings and I can't wait for his next book. I really will be recommending this to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 67

“A chore”

I did not enjoy this book at all. The tagline compares it to X-Men meets Black Hawk Down, which sounds awesome. The actual book however, is very badly written, with sub-plots that appear at random intervals. For... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

“A chore”

I did not enjoy this book at all. The tagline compares it to X-Men meets Black Hawk Down, which sounds awesome. The actual book however, is very badly written, with sub-plots that appear at random intervals. For... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.