The Long Shadow (Paperback)
  • The Long Shadow (Paperback)
zoom

The Long Shadow (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 27/03/2014
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From Mark Mills, author of the award-winning THE SAVAGE GARDEN comes THE LONG SHADOW, a first-class thriller in the vein of Robert Harris and William Boyd.

Blood brothers or sworn enemies? You never forget what the fight was about... THE LONG SHADOW is a stunning depiction of resentment and revenge.

Ben Makepeace has barely thought of Jacob since school. What he remembers is a competitive, manipulative boy, impinging on his life.

Now Ben is the wrong side of forty with a young son to support and in need of a backer. A call to meet hedge-fund billionaire Victor Sheldon is promising, but there's a surprise in store - Victor is Jacob, now firmly entrenched in a gilded world of riches and glamour. History can cast a long shadow and while Ben believes his childhood is well over, he soon discovers the roots of the past dig deep.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755392346
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A writer of real psychological acuity - his most richly textured work yet * Independent *
A clever, teasy hybrid of genres and fraught with tensions about money, class and the super-rich. A taut, gripping psychodrama and a wonderful, twisted take on the 'wild divergences' of contemporary Britain * The Spectator *
An elegantly written and irresistible thriller * Mail on Sunday *
I really enjoyed this book... The plot is excellent and as a reader we're not sure what is genuine and what is sabotage until near the end -- NewBooks Magazine
A sure grasp of character...An enthralling mystery, not least because the author's gift for an elegantly turned sentence is fully and generously in evidence * Express *

You may also be interested in...

Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bookread2day

“the long shadow”

A beautiful written story. Full of drama and suspense. I can see The Long Shadow is going to be this summer of 2013 biggest read. Take this book with you where ever you go, do not miss a moment. The story has Secrets... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27
Bookread2day

“page turner”

I loved this story and all the little twists. I highly recommend The Long Shadow to all readers. Ben and Jacob Hogg's are best of friends going sledging together. Years later divorced Ben becomes a script writer.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.