The Empty Cradle: An unforgettable saga of compassion in the face of adversity (Paperback)
  • The Empty Cradle: An unforgettable saga of compassion in the face of adversity (Paperback)
zoom

The Empty Cradle: An unforgettable saga of compassion in the face of adversity (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 06/06/2013
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

When a young woman faces unimaginable heartache, she vows to make a difference...

A moving saga of anguish, hope and never-ceasing fortitude, The Empty Cradle is a spell-binding and unforgettable tale from bestselling author of
No One's Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Dilly Court.

'Goodwin uses her deft touch, natural warmth and superb storytelling skills in a spellbinding story of love, loss and redemption' - Lancashire Evening Post

To the outside world, Charlotte is the privileged daughter of the local vicar. Behind closed doors, however, she is the prisoner of her controlling father. As she grows up, Charlotte longs for freedom, but her captivating innocence leads her into trouble. Sent to Ireland to hide a shameful pregnancy, she discovers that once again her father has deceived her. She is forced into a convent's harsh and humiliating regime, where she must eventually give up the one thing that makes her life worthwhile. When Charlotte returns to England, older than her years, she chooses to forget the past. Becoming a London midwife, she longs only to help other women at this hardest and most joyful moment in their lives. But her deep compassion, and desire to prevent anyone else suffering the same horror she did, leads her into a darker and more dangerous place.

What Amazon readers are saying about The Empty Cradle:

'I have never felt it quite so necessary to write my thoughts about a book. I cannot wait to read more and more of Rosie Goodwin's books. From the very first page to the very last it holds you page by page. My goodness what an amazing lady this author is. I loved every chapter, every page'

'...this one has to be the best [Rosie Goodwin] by far. Certainly not a book that you can guess the ending, and kept me captivated all through. Fantastic story and written superbly'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755385768
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Rosie's first novel, THE BAD APPLE: 'Rosie Goodwin is a born storyteller - she'll make you cry, she'll make you laugh, but most of all you'll care for her characters and lose yourself in her story. An author destined for the top * Jeannie Johnson, author of THE REST OF OUR DAYS *
Rosie deserves all her success. She is a talented storyteller and will go all the way to the top * Dee Williams *
The tearjerker of the season...[a] heart-rending tale * Western Mail *
A promising and well-drawn debut * Lancashire Evening Post *
A good tearjerker...compelling * Reading Evening Post *
A gifted writer... Not only is Goodwin's characterisation and dialogue compelling, but her descriptive writing is a joy * Nottingham Evening Post *
A heart-throbber of a story from Goodwin that puts many other so-called emotional blockbusters in the shade * Northern Echo *
Goodwin is a fabulous writer...she reels the reader in surprisingly quickly and her style involves lots of twists and turns that are in no way predictable * Worcester Evening News *
A touching and powerful new novel from a wonderful writer * Bookseller *

You may also be interested in...

Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.