Sword and Scimitar: A fast-paced historical epic of bravery and battle (Paperback)
  • Sword and Scimitar: A fast-paced historical epic of bravery and battle (Paperback)
zoom

Sword and Scimitar: A fast-paced historical epic of bravery and battle (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 25/04/2013
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'[A] gripping tale of the Great Siege of Malta...Ferocious and compelling it is a story of blood, romance and sacrifice' **** Daily Express

SWORD AND SCIMITAR is the compelling tale of the Great Siege of Malta from Simon Scarrow, bestselling author of the Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris. 'This lively, absorbing novel will not disappoint' The Sunday Times

1565, Malta: a vital outpost between the divided nations of Europe and the relentlessly expanding Ottoman Empire. Faced with ferocious attack by a vast Turkish fleet, the knights of the Order of St John fear annihilation. Amongst those called to assist is disgraced veteran Sir Thomas Barrett. Loyalty and instinct compel him to put the Order above all other concerns, yet his allegiance is divided. At Queen Elizabeth's command, he must search for a hidden scroll, guarded by the knights, that threatens her reign.

As Sir Thomas confronts the past that cost him his honour and a secret that has long lain buried, a vast enemy army arrives to lay siege to the island...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755358380
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'[A] gripping tale of the Great Siege of Malta . . . Ferocious and compelling it is a story of blood, romance and sacrifice. As the people fight for their homeland dark secrets emerge which threaten their survival' **** * Daily Express *
This lively, absorbing novel will not disappoint * The Sunday Times *
Praise for Simon Scarrow's other novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' * Bernard Cornwell *
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best * Independent *
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff * Good Book Guide *
Gripping and moving * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

Sharpe's Rifles
Added to basket
The Wild Hunt
Added to basket
Barry Lyndon
Added to basket
The Mauritius Command
Added to basket
Sharpe's Prey
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Fort
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Black Flag
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Clarissa Oakes
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Triumph
Added to basket
The Guardship
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Fortune of War
Added to basket
Sharpe's Fortress
Added to basket
Sharpe's Eagle
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Treason's Harbour
Added to basket

“Loved it!”

Simon Scarrow brings the seige of Malta to life in this exciting page turner. He makes you feel as though you are there fighting the Turks with the whole of Christendom at risk over a secret scroll that can't be... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 61

“A ripping yarn!”

More swashbuckling from Simon Scarrow. This one -off novel has it all - a knight who's lost his faith, a search for a vital secret, a three way love triangle, all set against the seige of Malta. Well researched... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 56

“Disappointing”

Having read and enjoyed all of Simon Scarrow’s Cato and Macro Roman Legion books, I was looking forward to reading his latest book.
Thomas Barrett, a knight, was banished from Malta twenty years before the siege of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 49

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.