The Eagle's Conquest (Eagles of the Empire 2) - Eagle (Paperback)
  • The Eagle's Conquest (Eagles of the Empire 2) - Eagle (Paperback)
zoom

The Eagle's Conquest (Eagles of the Empire 2) - Eagle (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 02/10/2008
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

THE EAGLE'S CONQUEST is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's compelling historical novels: 'Gripping and moving' The Times


Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer.

And as right-hand man to Centurion Macro, Cato sees the very worst of his native Britons, battling alongside his commander in bloodier combat than he could ever have imagined.

But the Britons are fighting back with Roman weapons - which means someone in their own ranks is supplying arms to the enemy. Cato and Macro are about to discover even deadlier adversaries than the British barbarians...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755349968
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 303 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' * Bernard Cornwell *
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best * Independent *
Gripping and moving * The Times *
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff * Good Book Guide *
Ferocious and compelling * Daily Express *
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction * Sunday Sport *
Rollicking good fun * Mail on Sunday *
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller * BBC History Magazine *
'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' * Bernard Cornwell *
Has all the hallmarks of Bernard Cornwell at his best * Oxford Times *
History mixed with romance, blood mixed with honour, and grit with a large helping of escapism thrown in * South Wales Evening Post *

You may also be interested in...

The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Awesome sequel, must read!”

When reading the first eagle series book "UNDER THE EAGLE" I greatly enjoyed the first book and then set my eyes on the the second one "THE EAGLES CONQUEST". This book is a rip-roaring read and has... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 50

“What more can a book give?”

I don't often read or review adult books - as a teenager, I often long for the simplicity of genres that ignore real-life problems. But this series is different. Historically accurate and deviously gripping, this... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34

“The Eagle's Conquest”

Fantastic read, Scarrow, in my opinion is up there with the likes of Conn iggulden and bernard cromwell.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.