Ts&Cs apply
Breaking Point (Paperback)
  • Breaking Point (Paperback)
zoom

Breaking Point (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 16/02/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Breaking Point is raw, compelling, and ground-breaking; Coffey puts the life of working mothers under a microscope. To say I loved it is an understatement, I expect it will be a huge success.' Liz Nugent

'A gripping, compulsive pageturner about what we expect from women, especially mothers. It's going to be a massive hit.' Marian Keyes

'Both page-turner and gripping courtroom drama, this has much to say about the expectations and judgement put on women when they become mothers. Prepare to feel devastated and enraged all at once.' Heat

One mistake could cost her everything.

Susannah has two beautiful daughters, a high-flying medical career, a successful husband and an enviable life. Her hair is glossy, her clothes are expensive; she truly has it all.

But when - on the hottest day of the year - her strict morning routine is disrupted, Susannah finds herself running on autopilot. It is hours before she realises she has made a devastating mistake. Her baby, Louise, is still in the backseat of the car and it is too late to save her.

As the press close in around her, Susannah is put on trial for negligence. It is plain to see that this is not a trial, it's a witch hunt. But what will the court say?

Readers love Breaking Point:
'A genuine contender for best book I have read this year.' *****
'I was reading through the tears and couldn't read it fast enough' *****
'An excellent novel, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain' *****
'If you want an addictive, pacey read, this is for you!' *****
'I was a bit of an emotional wreck at the end' *****

'A very thought-provoking story that will no doubt resonate with parents everywhere' Sun

'Powerful' Best

'A rare treat, an emotional thriller steeped in humanity. I read it in a single sitting!' John Boyne

'Gripping, unswerving, heart-breaking, you'll read this book through parted fingers - and learn a crucial lesson as you go.' Celia Walden, author of Payday

'Really enjoyed this terrifyingly plausible debut, with much to say about parental guilt and how society treats working motherhood.' Katherine Faulkner, author of Greenwich Park

'An incredibly powerful thriller with real emotional depth - and a chillingly relatable storyline.' TM Logan, author of The Holiday

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751582406
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 196 x 124 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

It's a knockout, you're going to love it. - Ryan Tubridy, RTE

Breaking Point has all the hallmarks of a future bestseller . . . it has the pace, setting and glamour of a Hollywood thriller. - Jane Casey, Irish Times

This very human story examines the heavy burden on working mothers, spinning the innumerable plates of parenting and career. Are working women set up to lose, to fail their children, and to fail themselves? Shocking, thought-provoking, and necessary, Breaking Point will change hearts and minds. - Frances Macken, author of You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here

Skilfully explores what it means to be a woman trying to juggle it all - and the consequences when tragedy strikes. You won't be able to put this down. - Image Magazine

It grips from get go. - The Gloss

Expect this book to be a mainstay of bookclubs in 2022. - The Irish Sunday Business Post

You won't be able to put this one down. - Stellar Magazine

This is not only a gripping page-turner and gripping courtroom drama, it also has a lot to say about the expectations and judgement put on women when they become mothers. Prepare to feel devastated and enraged all at once. - Crime Monthly

A heart-in-mouth type of novel that will have you wonder how you'd react if in similar circumstances. - Belfast Telegraph

The book promises to be one of the most talked-about of the year. - New European, Faces to Watch for 2022

Hugely compelling - I devoured it in a day . . . a compulsive debut that keeps you turning its pages. - Sunday Business Post

This debut novel from Edel Coffey craftily spins out that nightmare scenario of a clock you can't turn back, a situation you can't fix and how quickly envy turns to universal hate. - Sunday Life Magazine

This chilling, emotional thriller explores the burdens placed on working mothers in the wake of a high-flying doctor's tragic mistake. - Joanne Owen, LoveReading.co.uk

You may also be interested in...

Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Blue Sisters
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Ministry of Time
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“Taut and heart-wrenching”

When tragedy strikes, Dr Sue’s life is thrown into disarray as charges of manslaughter and neglect are put to her, and the trial quickly becomes a witch-hunt as the press and prosecutor pile on the blame.

This is a... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 5
kendrafortune

“An emotional and harrowing story”

Dr Susannah Rice, aka Dr Sue, well-known celeb doctor known for her expertise with children's wellbeing, leads a hectic schedule where she balances being a successful career woman with being mother to two small... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Haunting”

Susannah is a successful paediatrician, and parenting guru, with a nice husband and two lovely daughters. One day, too many thoughts in her head and changes of drop off and travel to work plans results in her... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: