The Halfpenny Girls (Paperback)
  • The Halfpenny Girls (Paperback)
zoom

The Halfpenny Girls (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

THE BRAND NEW SAGA SERIES BY MAGGIE MASON - MEET THE HALFPENNY GIRLS. . .

'In the grand tradition of sagas set down by the late and great Catherine Cookson ' Jean Fullerton on Blackpool Lass

Down on their luck, all the have left is friendship . . .

It is 1937 and Alice, Edith and Marg continue to face hardships every day, growing up on one of the poorest streets in Blackpool. Penniless, their friendship has helped them survive this far, but it'll take more than that to see them through the dark days that lie ahead . . .

Alice is coping with a violent father and the weight of the duty she carries to support her family, Marg is left reeling after a dark secret about her birth comes to light and threatens to destroy the life she knows, and Edith is fighting to protect her alcoholic mother from the shame of their neighbours and keep her brother on the straight and narrow.

A chance encounter at the Blackpool Tower Ballroom promises to set their lives on a new path, one filled with love and safety and hope for a brighter future. Will The Halfpenny Girls, who have never known anything but poverty, finally find happiness? And if they do, will it come at a price?

The first in a brand new series from reader favourite Maggie Mason, The Halfpenny Girls is the perfect heart-warming family saga about overcoming hardship and the value of friendship. Perfect for fans of Val Wood, Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin.

Readers LOVE Maggie Mason's Blackpool sagas:

'5 stars - I wish I could give it more. Wonderful read.'

'Another must read book'

'What a brilliant book. I couldn't put it down!'

'I was hooked from the first page . . . this author is a must read'

'A totally absorbing read'

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751580723
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 38 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
Dilly's Hope
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Home Front Girls
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Bad Apple
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
No One's Girl
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dilly's Sacrifice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
The Wapshot Chronicle
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Woman of Substance
Added to basket
Casting Off
Added to basket
GraceJReviewerlady.net

“Great Start to a New Series!”

A cracking start to what promised to be a terrific series!

Alice, Edith & Marg have grown up together in Whitaker Street, Blackpool, where there is never much money going spare. Now, all three young women work in... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Three young women in Blackpool 1937 discover the value of friendship”

Three young women live on one of the poorest streets in Blackpool in 1937. They have become very close, even when they are down to their last few coins, partly through their work at the local biscuit factory, but also... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.