The Coven (Paperback)
  • The Coven (Paperback)
zoom

The Coven (Paperback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 02/09/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A compelling, prescient tale of an alternate world with far too many scary similarities to our own.' Angela Clarke

Let me repeat myself, so we can be very clear. Women are not the enemy. We must protect them from themselves, just as much as we must protect ourselves.

Imagine a world in which witchcraft is real. In which mothers hand down power to their daughters, power that is used harmlessly and peacefully.

Then imagine that the US President is a populist demagogue who decides that all witches must be imprisoned for their own safety, as well as the safety of those around them - creating a world in which to be female is one step away from being criminal...

As witches across the world are rounded up, one young woman discovers a power she did not know she had. It's a dangerous force and it puts her top of the list in a global witch hunt.

But she - and the women around her - won't give in easily. Not while all of women's power is under threat.

The Coven is a dazzling global thriller that pays homage to the power and potential of women everywhere.

*

'A gripping and vividly drawn dystopian fantasy about the power and potential of women which feels easier to enjoy now Trump has gone.' Heat

'Thought-provoking and powerful. A big, page-turning thriller.' Paula Daly

'A real thrill ride.' Debbie Moon

'Dark, dangerous & powerful - I couldn't put it down' Michelle Kenney, author of The Book of Fire series

'Compelling, urgent and highly original as well as being a cracking read. I loved it.' Kate Hamer

'A barnstorming, breathless ride - The Handmaid's Tale by way of wicca and Witchfinder General. Thrillingly cinematic and compulsive reading.' Stephen Volk

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751577945
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A gripping and vividly drawn dystopian fantasy about the power and potential of women which feels easier to enjoy now Trump has gone. * Heat *
Vivid and urgent... an immersive and fast-paced must for fans of The Power and The Handmaid's Tale * Woman & Home *
A chase thriller with magical elements, and good fun it is too * Morning Star *
A great read ... you'll be glad you picked up a copy * Independent *

You may also be interested in...

V2
Added to basket
V2
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Both of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Unsettled Ground
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback

“Magical Sisterhood.”

An absolute cracking adventure about a young girl who discovers she is a powerful witch, she's had her powers bound by her mother and we meet her as all hell breaks loose when the binds break. I really liked the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“A real page turner”

Reading this book, you enter a world that has outlawed witchcraft, to the point where women are reduced to a place they existed a hundred years ago - Second class citizens with no views or power of their own. However,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“The Handmaid's Tale with witches!”

The Coven holds a magnifying glass up to society. In the name of safety, women's freedoms are being removed. A power struggle between the establishment and witches is raging. A young girl, a rare elemental, is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.