Under The Golden Sun (Paperback)
  • Under The Golden Sun (Paperback)
zoom

Under The Golden Sun (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£13.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 24/11/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Jenny Ashcroft's writing is...
'Mysterious' Dinah Jefferies
'Moving' Tracy Rees
'Emotional, evocative and enthralling' Kate Furnivall

*

Wanted: companion to escort a young, orphaned child home to Australia.

All expenses as well as passage covered.
Interested parties to apply without delay to 32 Williams Street, Belgravia.

Rose Hamilton is in desperate need of a fresh start. There are so many reasons she should ignore the advertisement: the war, those treacherous seas, her family, her fiance... but she cannot help herself. Within weeks, she is boarding an enormous convoy, already too attached to five-year-old Walter Lucknow.

But rural Queensland, and the cattle station home of Walter's parents, is not as either of them were told to expect. Rose cannot leave this little boy she's grown to love until he is happy, and she knows the key to this is Walter's wounded fighter pilot uncle Max. But how will she ever part with Walter? And what if he isn't the only reason she wants to stay?

'An epic story of hope and heartbreak, exquisitely written. I raced through it, but didn't want it to end.' Iona Grey

*

Perfect for fans of Kirsty Manning, Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop and Natasha Lester.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751573237
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 480 g
Dimensions: 232 x 152 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Moving and beautifully written, this enchanting story of love and loss touched my heart. -- Dinah Jefferies * on Meet Me in Bombay *
Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling. -- Kate Furnivall * on Island in the East *
A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric. I could practically feel the sweat prickling on my skin -- Rachel Rhys * on Island in the East *
An evocative, absorbing story... A rich and satisfying read. -- Gill Paul * on Island in the East *
My heart! This book was sumptuous and hooked me from the first page... The location was beautifully exotic and the storyline just compelling. I loved it. -- Lorna Cook * on Meet Me in Bombay *
One of those rare and wonderful books that truly draws you into another place and time, word perfect, pitch perfect, detail perfect... Anyone who truly loves historical fiction should run to buy a copy of Meet Me in Bombay today. -- Lauren Willig * on Meet Me in Bombay *
Historical fiction at its atmospheric best -- Sarra Manning * Red Magazine on Island in the East *
Impossible to put down. -- Kate Riordan * on Island in the East *
I loved Island in the East. A fabulous book. -- Tracy Rees * on Island in the East *

You may also be interested in...

The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
The Other Queen
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

“Well researched historical novel! Enjoyable!”

I’ve read several books by Jenny Ashcroft and they are always well researched and extremely gripping, full of wonderful characters who really come to life with every page read.
In “Under The Golden Sun” I just love... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Beautifully drawn, evocative historical novel”

I genuinely loved this book - I found it hard to put down, and yet I also desperately didn’t want it to end as I knew I would be bereft when I finished it. Jenny writes with evocative charm and eloquence, immersing... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Compelling read”

I'm a massive fan of historical fiction so I really enjoyed this book. The story had such depth of character and emotion, I found myself genuinely caring about the characters. I have read a few of Jenny's... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.