The Copperettes at War (Paperback)
  • The Copperettes at War (Paperback)
zoom

The Copperettes at War (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 17/09/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The BRAND NEW wartime saga from the much-loved author of THE TILBURY POPPIES. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna Douglas

The war is over, but their friendship has just begun . . .

Essex, 1918

Working at the local munitions factory has given Aggie the freedom she's long desired. But the Great War is coming to an end, and the men are coming home. Determined to hold on to her new-found independence, Aggie decides to join the Women's Police Service and become a Copperette.

Like Aggie, Mim wants nothing more than to do her bit for her country. Never one to shy away from hard work, she's eager to help her fellow women and keep up morale - even if that does mean opening her home to Aggie and helping her train.

With the last days of war upon them, Aggie and Mim face shocking loss. But in the face of great hardship, can they find a way to work together?

A heart-warming story of love, loss and friendship, set against the backdrop of wartime England

REAL READERS love Sue Wilsher's novels:

'I loved reading about the wartime challenges Mim and Aggie faced - a great combination of historical fact, emotion and grit. I couldn't put it down'

'Another brilliant book from Sue Wilsher bringing history alive. Unforgettable characters and great storytelling'

Brilliant book . . . the third one I've read by this author and I can't fault it at all - would highly recommend'

'A great story with local interest for anyone who knows Thurrock. A tribute to those who lived through that time and endured so much'

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751570878
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Packed with drama, dark humour and shocking truths about life for working class women nearly 60 years ago, When My Ship Comes In is a compelling first novel, a gritty page-turner - Lancashire Evening Post

You may also be interested in...

Bridgerton: Romancing Mr Bridgerton
Added to basket
The Four Winds
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Paris Affair
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The House of Fortune
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Wartime Wishes at Bletchley Park
Added to basket
The Pillars of the Earth
Added to basket
In Memoriam
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Temple of Fortuna
Added to basket
One Enchanted Evening
Added to basket
The Nightingale
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Ball at Versailles
Added to basket
Gold
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Dance Tree
Added to basket
In Memoriam
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Atlas
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: