The Chemist (Paperback)
  • The Chemist (Paperback)
zoom

The Chemist (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 528 Pages
Published: 13/07/2017
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

From the author of the Twilight Saga comes a propulsive adult novel immersed in the shadowy world of top secret government espionage. A compelling tale of an agent on the run and a romance that is likely to see her dead, The Chemist is a spectacular change of pace for Meyer, and one she pulls off with aplomb.

Imagine: an agent, employed by the United States government, brimming with its darkest possible secrets. Her department’s work is so sensitive, so clandestine, it bears no name. Known to almost only herself, she is the top expert in a very specialised field.

Imagine that they have decided that she - and everything she knows - is a liability.

The only other person she trusted is dead. Now their attention has turned to her: rarely staying in the same place, or using the same name for long, she knows that her time is running out. When her former handler offers a means of escape, she cannot possibly know that what she learns only makes her situation yet more dangerous. And when she finds herself falling for a man whose very presence makes that risk a certainty, she understands that their salvation are the very skills only she can control.

After a writing hiatus of some six years, the global phenomenon that is Stephanie Meyer returns with her utterly compelling new thriller The Chemist.

From the imagination that sculpted the universe of Twilight and introduced the spellbinding concept that was The Host, Stephanie Meyer now presents her first adult novel proper – the chilling and all-too possible world of The Chemist.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751570045
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Meyer has dreamed up a fast-paced thriller, and a tough, mysterious heroine . . . fabulous - Observer

A high-octane thriller . . . a compulsive page turner - Red

The pages turn themselves - Washington Post

Written in Meyer's trademark compulsive style and packed with action, mystery and intrigue . . . hugely enjoyable - Heat

The Twilight mogul moves from blood-sucker romance to heart-stopping drama with a thriller about a kick-ass scientist and ex-government agent on the run. - Angela Ledgerwood, Cosmopolitan

It's nice to see a heroine whose greatest asset is her brain . . . [the] pages fly by - Entertainment Weekly

Here, an exciting heroine (see: female Jason Bourne) knows too much, is a threat, and has one last chance to clear her name. Even more exciting than vampires, no? - Steph Opitz, Marie Claire

Full-on from page one, this is a rip-roaring thriller in the best tradition - Glasgow Herald

In the vein of David Baldacci or Lee Child . . . consistently fast-paced fun . . . a terrific ride - USA Today

You may also be interested in...

Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback

“Disappointing”

This book was highly recommend by a good friend but I just could not get into it.
Right from the start I failed to connect with the main character, super clever paranoid scientist geek survival freak whose name... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: