Island in the East (Paperback)
  • Island in the East (Paperback)
zoom

Island in the East (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 12/07/2018
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

***THE EBOOK BESTSELLER***
Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop and Lucy Foley.

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal.
A war that changes everything.

**************

'Island in the East is a stunner' Kate Furnivall
'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped' Dinah Jefferies
'A moving, stirring love story' Rachel Rhys
'Evocative, absorbing. . . A rich and satisfying read' Gill Paul
'It becomes impossible to put this book down' Kate Riordan

**************

Singapore, 1897
Harriet and Mae Grafton are twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair. They grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences.

1941
Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . .

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful - with a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama - Island in the East is romantic historical fiction at its very best.

More praise for Jenny Ashcroft:

'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees
'A great read.' Judith Lennox
'A summer must-read' Red
'Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale' My Weekly
'Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be.' Nicola Cornick
'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher
'Completely entrancing . . . Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous
'Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read.' Nikola Scott
'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan
'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey
'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751565089
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 295 g
Dimensions: 199 x 140 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A disturbing and utterly fascinating tale in the vivid setting of Singapore, where emotions are raw and characters are pushed to the edge. I was swept away by the deeply moving love story and by the dark twisting shivering secrets behind it. The stifling sense of threat and heat gripped me and didn't let go. Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling. - Kate Furnivall

An evocative, absorbing story about a fascinating period of history. The dual narrative is perfectly balanced, making it a rich and satisfying read. - Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife

A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric. I could practically feel the sweat prickling on my skin - Tammy Cohen writing as Rachel Rhys

Historical fiction at its atmospheric best - Sarra Manning, Red Magazine

Jenny Ashcroft's Island in the East is that rare thing: a dual narrative novel in which both strands of the story are as engaging and compelling as each other. The Singapore of the two different eras is a character in itself, and so deftly drawn that the heat and humidity seem to rise from every page. As the twin threats of invasion and social exclusion close in on Harriet, Mae and Ivy, it becomes impossible to put this book down. - Kate Riordan

Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be, heartfelt and heart-breaking, utterly compulsive and completely immersive . . . will stay with readers for a very long time and deservedly so. I haven't read a historical novel this good in a long time. - Nicola Cornick, bestselling author of House of Shadows

A great read, with a complex and involving plot, appealing characters and two touching love stories. Ashcroft's portrait of wartime Singapore is evocative, and the island's fall in 1942 is powerfully conveyed. - Judith Lennox, on Island in the East

Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read. Romance, mysterious secrets surfacing from the past and strong women that will have you rooting for them until the last page is turned - I couldn't put it down. - Nikola Scott, author of My Mother's Shadow

Completely entrancing - the humidity and social tensions of a bygone Singapore rise from every page. Perfect escapism, beautifully written - Emma Rous

An incredibly special, unforgettable book. It's magnificent. - Iona Grey

A wonderful novel, full of mystery . . . If you love historical fiction with a touch of epic romance, if you loved Beneath a Burning Sky then read Island in the East as soon as you can. Oh, whoever you are and whatever you like reading give this one a go. You won't regret it! - Rachel Burton, author of The Many Colours of Us

Exotic and mysterious. I was gripped - Dinah Jefferies on BENEATH A BURNING SKY

With two heart-breaking stories that interwove in such a way that I was rooting for the main characters right through, beautiful descriptions of Singapore (and two lovely sexy heroes!), I loved Island in the East. A fabulous book. - Tracy Rees

Absolutely brilliant - Kerry Fisher, author of After the Lie, on BENEATH A BURNING SKY

Love, sisterly rivalry and betrayal are themes in this epic tale - My Weekly

You may also be interested in...

Wartime Wishes at Bletchley Park
Added to basket
The Paris Affair
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
One Enchanted Evening
Added to basket
The House of Fortune
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Memoriam
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Ball at Versailles
Added to basket
A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting
Added to basket
Atlas
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Dance Tree
Added to basket
The Nightingale
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In Memoriam
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Four Winds
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Gold
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Pillars of the Earth
Added to basket
Bridgerton: Romancing Mr Bridgerton
Added to basket
Inked Book Reviews

“This is by far the best book in this genre I have read for a long time!”

I couldn’t put down from the moment I started reading it. I kept trying to find a spot that I could finish reading for the night but there wasn’t one and before I knew it it was 6am and 79% through the book!... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Unputdownable”

Engaging characters and plot. Obviously a considerable amount of research was involved. Can't wait for Jenny's next book. Was originally drawn to buy this by sticker referring readers of Victoria Hislop.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20
Inked Book Reviews

“This is by far the best book in this genre I have read for a long time!”

I couldn’t put down from the moment I started reading it. I kept trying to find a spot that I could finish reading for the night but there wasn’t one and before I knew it it was 6am and 79% through the book!... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: