Beneath a Burning Sky (Paperback)
  • Beneath a Burning Sky (Paperback)
zoom

Beneath a Burning Sky (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 29/06/2017
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
'A summer must-read' Red 'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies, author of number one bestselling The Tea Planter's Wife 'This story of twists and turns transcends era and genre. Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher, author of The Silent Wife 'A must for fans of first-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan, author of My Sister's Secret 'Beautifully described ...A moving love story' Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow 'Exquisitely written ...unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost A beautiful and gripping story of love and betrayal and mystery that ticks all the boxes. Perfect for fans of Patricia Wilson, Dinah Jefferies and Rosanna Ley. When twenty-two-year-old Olivia is coerced into marriage by the cruel Alistair Sheldon she leaves England for Egypt, his home and the land of her own childhood. Reluctant as she is to go with Alistair, it's in her new home that she finds happiness in surprising places: she is reunited with her long-estranged sister, Clara, and falls - impossibly and illicitly - in love with her husband's boarder, Captain Edward Bertram.
Then Clara is abducted from one of the busiest streets in the city. Olivia is told it's thieves after ransom money, but she's convinced there's more to it. As she sets out to discover what's happened to the sister she's only just begun to know, she falls deeper into the shadowy underworld of Alexandria, putting her own life, and her chance at a future with Edward, the only man she's ever loved, at risk. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her ...Beneath a Burning Sky is a novel of secrets, betrayal and, above all else, love. Set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria, this beautiful and heart-wrenching story will take your breath away.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751565034
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 196 x 127 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

From the exciting beginning to a nail-biting conclusion, with the scent of market stalls and the salt from the sea running through it, I was gripped by this complex tale. Exotic. Mysterious. Beneath a Burning Sky is an absorbing, satisfying read. Dinah Jefferies, author of number one bestselling THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE Well written, beautifully described and terribly exciting. I loved this page-turning adventure with a moving love story at its heart Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow Set in the sultry heat of colonial Alexandria, Beneath a Burning Sky is an exquisitely written story that combines tense, fast-paced mystery with heart-wrenching romance. Unputdownable and unforgettable Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost This lushly detailed debut is a summer-must read Red There's so much packed into this novel, from the sensuous evocation of Egypt, to the gripping mystery at its heart, and through it all a beautiful love story - what a love story! I loved Olivia and her gorgeous feistiness, and Edward is possibly the most charming romantic hero I've come across in fiction. Whether or not historical fiction is your thing, this story of twists and turns transcends era and genre. Absolutely brilliant. Kerry Fisher, author of The Silent Wife Jenny Ashcroft is a true talent, a writer who sweeps you away to distant shores and into the minds of vivid characters with her beautiful writing. Beneath a Burning Sky had me gripped from start to finish, I just couldn't put it down. Olivia and Clara were such wonderfully-drawn characters, and the romance between Olivia and Edward heart-stopping! This book is a must for fans of first-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots Tracy Buchanan, author of My Sister's Secret Beneath a Burning Sky is a triumph. It carries you away to a different time and place completely. Evocative, emotional, and thoroughly absorbing Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake A complex, layered novel which captures the place and time with exceptional vividness. The deft plotting balances glorious romance and beautiful settings with shocking squalor and brutality, making this much more than a period piece literarysofa.com

You may also be interested in...

The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Beginning of Spring
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Clan of the Cave Bear
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: