The Empire Girls (Paperback)
  • The Empire Girls (Paperback)
zoom

The Empire Girls (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 17/05/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A heart-breaking wartime saga from the much-loved author of THE TILBURY POPPIES. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna Douglas

How far would you go to protect your family? . . .

Essex, 1950.

The Empire is a pub run by Vi, Doris's mother. When Doris falls pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself.

Desperate to look after her daughter, Doris finds refuge in Southend and takes a job in a factory, hoping for a better life. When she finds herself cast out one night, Doris has nowhere to go but home - back to Tilbury. But she's still not welcome there and once again has to look for shelter and work.

Homeless and as a single mother, life is tough for Doris. And it becomes harder when she helps a neighbour, Claude, to find a new life in Britain. Now Doris must decide where her heart lies . . .

A heart-warming story of love, loss and friendship, set against the backdrop of post-war England

REAL READERS love Sue Wilsher's novels:

'I absolutely loved this book - it was so gripping that I read it from cover to cover in one sitting'

'This story was fabulous. It won't be my last Sue Wilsher book'

'Brilliant author - you won't be disappointed'

'Couldn't put the book down. I cannot wait for her next novel'

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751564631
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 266 g
Dimensions: 199 x 132 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
It's a page-turning, well-researched and revealing story filled with heartache and drama as two very different women battle with the hardships and prejudices of life in the Fifties. * Lancaster Evening Post *
a gripping page-turner about resilience, hope and the triumph of the human spirit readers will not be able to put down. * Bookish Jottings *

You may also be interested in...

Demelza
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Welcome Home
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Sea Swept
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
Marking Time
Added to basket
A Daughter's Disgrace
Added to basket
Salem Street
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Ruthless Need
Added to basket
Pride of Lancashire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Miller's Dance
Added to basket
The Winds of War
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Crying Shame
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Our Little Secret
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dilly's Sacrifice
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.