Burned and Broken: A gripping detective mystery you won't be able to put down - Pearson and Russell (Paperback)
  • Burned and Broken: A gripping detective mystery you won't be able to put down - Pearson and Russell (Paperback)
zoom

Burned and Broken: A gripping detective mystery you won't be able to put down - Pearson and Russell (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 18/05/2017
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 4-5 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

A gripping mystery about a woman trying to find out the truth behind the death of her best friend and introducing a brilliant detective duo - perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald.

A DEAD GIRL
A vulnerable young woman, fresh out of the care system, is trying to discover the truth behind the sudden death of her best friend.

A MURDERED POLICE OFFICER
The charred body of a policeman - currently the subject of an internal investigation - is found in the burnt-out-shell of his car on the Southend seafront.

A CRIME WORTH KILLING FOR?
To DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell of the Essex Police Major Investigation Team, the two events seem unconnected. But as they dig deeper into their colleague's murder, dark secrets begin to emerge.

Can Pearson and Russell solve both cases, before more lives are destroyed?

A twisty, gripping novel that introduces a brilliant new detective duo. If you like Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald, then you'll love this crime debut.

TRULY EVIL, the gripping second book in the series is out now.

****

Praise for Burned and Broken:

'Immensely impressive' The Times

'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times

'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books)

'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek)

'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751562088
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 268 g
Dimensions: 200 x 169 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A feast of intrigue. - CHOICE Magazine

Immensely impressive. - The Times

Auspicious debut . . . finely drawn, overlapping story. - Daily Mail

The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut. - Sunday Times

Emotional, intelligent, sensual & with such a strong voice, Burned & Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success. - Harry Illingworth (@Harryillers), Goldsboro Books

A very strong debut by someone whom I believe is going to become a household name. You heard it here first! A great story-line, with very real characters . . . Mark has created a new police partnership, with his main characters DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell: one from the dark ages of the Met, the other from the wrong side of the tracks. The partnership works really well, as you begin to empathise with the other main characters, plus Donna and Malc, a couple that you aren't likely to forget in a hurry! Read it for yourself, and then tell me that I'm wrong! - Sainsburys Entertainment, 5 stars

Introduces a new detective duo to crime fiction and guarantees some open mouth reading. I look forward to see what he has in store for Pearson and Russell. - Woman's Way

A cracker of a crime debut: Hardie's crime debut is a cracker with a cunningly twisted plot. - Peterborough Evening Telegraph

You may also be interested in...

The World of Hercule Poirot
Added to basket
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Wrong Sister
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Burned and Broken is a very strong title which suits the book perfectly.”

If you want a book that begins with an horrific scene then this is it .. in at the deep end with a gruesome death in a burning car. To add to the drama it appears the victim is a police officer so all/any... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 25

“Dark crime drama ”

An interesting plot but one that I feel would have worked better as a TV show - it didn't flow very well for me and seemed to jump around too much.
The first third had me tempted to give up but it did improve,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Three stars!”

A burnt out car containing the body of DI Sean Carragher is found on the Southend seafront. His burns are so bad his colleagues can’t even recognise him. What’s more, DI Carragher was the subject of an ongoing... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: