Dying In The Wool: Book 1 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
  • Dying In The Wool: Book 1 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

Dying In The Wool: Book 1 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 01/10/2009
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
The first mystery in the bestselling Kate Shackleton crime series! A Golden Age murder mystery set in 1920s Yorkshire, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Verity Bright.
Take one quiet Yorkshire Village, add a measure of mystery, a sprinkling of scandal and Kate Shackleton - amateur sleuth extraordinaire!

Bridgestead is a quiet village: a babbling brook, rolling hills and a working mill at its heart. Pretty and remote, nothing exceptional happens, except for the day when Joshua Braithwaite, goes missing in dramatic circumstances, never to be heard of again.

Now Joshua's daughter is getting married and wants one last attempt at finding her father. Has he run off with his mistress, or was he murdered for his mounting coffers?

Kate Shackleton has always loved solving puzzles. So who better to get to the bottom of Joshua's mysterious disappearance? But as Kate taps into the lives of the Bridgestead dwellers, she opens cracks that some would kill to keep closed . . .

Praise for Frances Brody:

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' DAILY MAIL

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' ANN CLEEVES

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' ANN GRANGER

'Delightful' PEOPLE'S FRIEND

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT BOOK REVIEWS

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' LITERARY REVIEW

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780749941871
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 199 x 131 x 24 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Great Deceiver
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Murder at Holly House
Added to basket
The Beholders
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The White Lady
Added to basket
The Whispering Muse
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Other Side of Mrs Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Blue Water
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Next in Line
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Hercule Poirot’s Silent Night
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Murder at Holly House
Added to basket

“Mystery at' mill”

Kate Shackleton, war widow & amateur sleuth, is asked by a friend from her VAD days to find her father who has gone missing in dramatic circumstances. There are only three problems: the events happened in August... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 63
Penelope Bullock at Lancaster

“Classically cosy crime.”

A wonderfully written classic crime novel, quintessentially english packed with wonderful characters, intriguing mysteries and enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. Perfect for anyone who like their crime... More

“Good”

Introducing Kate shackleton in a good, well written mystery. I enjoyed the book. The characters are great and I like the 1920's setting. All of Kate's scenes are written first person but I thought it was... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: