Squidge Dibley Destroys the School (Paperback)
  • Squidge Dibley Destroys the School (Paperback)
zoom

Squidge Dibley Destroys the School (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 176 Pages / Published: 18/02/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Things are going downhill fast for class 6PU at Craglands South Primary School. They've changed teachers more times than most kids change their socks, and their latest one is so strict they aren't even allowed to sneeze. But just when it seems like the school term has been turned into a prison term, a new kid arrives.
A kid unlike any other kid at Craglands South.
A kid named Squidge Dibley.
He's small, quiet and strangely ... squidgy.
And he's about to change everything.

SQUIDGE DIBLEY DESTROYS THE SCHOOL is book one in a hilarious new series by Mick Elliott, author of THE TURNERS, and features his unforgettable cartoon-style illustrations on every page.

Publisher: Hachette Australia
ISBN: 9780734419422
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 160 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I loved SQUIDGE DIBLEY so much, because of how silly and hilarious the characters are. For example, Nathan Kobeissi can't stop eating paint. It was hilarious when Crichton Peel got superglued to his chair. These are great books. * Billy, age 8 *

Synopsis: Squidge Dibley is the new kid at Craglands South Primary ... and the school might not survive him. The start of a hilarious new series about a very strange class, perfect for fans of Weirdo, Funny Kid and Tom Gates.
Things are going downhill fast for class 6PU at Craglands South Primary School. They've changed teachers more times than most kids change their socks, and their latest one is so strict they aren't even allowed to sneeze. But just when it seems like the school term has been turned into a prison term, a new kid arrives.
A kid unlike any other kid at Craglands South.
A kid named Squidge Dibley.
He's small, quiet and strangely ... squidgy.
And he's about to change everything.
SQUIDGE DIBLEY DESTROYS THE SCHOOL is book one in a hilarious new series by Mick Elliott, author of THE TURNERS, and features his unforgettable cartoon-style illustrations on every page.
~*~
Padman O'Donnell is in year six at Craglands South Primary School - and is in a class that churns through teachers faster than anyone could ever imagine. One day, the only teacher who has managed to survive the longest it taken away sick, and the class has to be taught by Vice Principal Hoovesly - who has so many rules, he starts to make them up as he goes just to have a reason to punish the class - for breathing, for gasping, for trying to learn. Until the day Squidge Dibley arrives. Unlike any other student, Squidge has a variety of unusual diseases that make him burp, stretch, and explode when exposed to certain elements and noises - something that kids will find very amusing if they enjoy this kind of humour.
Each time a teacher tries to make Squidge do something, he produces a note - informing the teacher of what not to do and why, resulting in various incidents where the teacher, in many cases, Vice Principal Hoovesly, is thwarted in what he is trying to do. As the narrator, Padman provides his thoughts and impressions on each student and the teachers, so everything that happens is seen through his eyes. However, Hoovesly is quite an awful person, so even Principal Shouthmouth (called that because nobody in the story can pronounce her real name) is keen to see him get what he deserves. When a teacher forbids sneezing - something you can't control, drastic measures must be taken.
The first in a new series, this is sure to capture the imaginations of younger readers with the cartoon-like illustrations that complement the text, and the fun characters who cause mischief, but when it counts, really come together and utilise their unusual talents and tricks to help their new friend, Squidge. Every character in this novel is different and has a quirk that makes them unique. It is these differences that are celebrated throughout the book, as they should be in real life as well.
This is a great book for primary school readers looking for a bit of fun and difference in their reading, and is a good, quick read as well.

* The Book Muse *
Squidge Dibley Destroys the School is book one in a hilarious new series by Mick Elliott, author of The Turners, and features his unforgettable cartoon-style illustrations on every page. * Female.com.au *
Written for the generation of readers who love Diary of a wimpy kid, Tom Gates and other books designed to cater for readers who love quirky and silly humour with crazy illustrations, this will be another series that will be easily consumed and peer recommended. * NATIONAL [ONLINE] ReadPlus *

You may also be interested in...

Dragon Legend
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
King of Scars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume Four
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Harklights
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Book 2)
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising
Added to basket
What the Ladybird Heard at the Seaside
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Cat's Cookbook
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Board book
Legendborn
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.