Wars of the Roses: Trinity: Book 2 - The Wars of the Roses (Paperback)
  • Wars of the Roses: Trinity: Book 2 - The Wars of the Roses (Paperback)
zoom

Wars of the Roses: Trinity: Book 2 - The Wars of the Roses (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £6.49
Paperback 576 Pages / Published: 09/04/2015
  • Save £2.50
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The brilliant retelling of the Wars of the Roses continues with Trinity, the second gripping novel in the new series from historical fiction master, Conn Iggulden. 1454: King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by his illness for over a year, his eyes vacant, his mind a blank. His fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband's interests, hoping that her son Edward will one day know the love of his father. Richard Duke of York, Protector of the Realm, extends his influence throughout the kingdom with each month that Henry slumbers. The Earls of Salisbury and Warwick make up a formidable trinity with Richard, and together they seek to break the support of those who would raise their colours in the name of Henry and his Queen. But when the King unexpectedly recovers his senses and returns to London to reclaim his throne, the balance of power is once again thrown into turmoil. The clash of the Houses of Lancaster and York will surely mean a war to tear England apart . . . Following on from Stormbird, Trinity is the second epic instalment in master storyteller Conn Iggulden's new Wars of the Roses series. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Tudors will be gripped from the word go. Praise for Stormbird: 'Pacey and juicy, and packed with action' Sunday Times 'Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent 'A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period' Daily Express 'A page-turning thriller' Mail on Sunday 'Superbly plotted and paced' The Times

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780718196394
Number of pages: 576
Weight: 404 g
Dimensions: 198 x 134 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Iggulden is in a class of his own when it comes to epic, historical fiction * Daily Mirror *
Superbly plotted and paced * The Times *
Conn breathes new life into the darkest and most dramatic of times, with a flair for both the huge scale and human interest of it all * Star *
Exceptionally well-written and gripping * Stylist *
Compelling reading * Woman and Home *
A page-turning thriller * Mail on Sunday *
Pacey and juicy, and packed with action * Sunday Times *

You may also be interested in...

Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sepulchre
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Other Queen
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Fascinating period of history”

As a way of retelling history, turning dry facts into a novel with a mix of real and constructed characters isn’t at all new, and if you objected to that I suppose you rule out Shakespeare and many others too.... More

Hardback edition
14th August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 73
Bookdragon Sean

“Iggulden has captured the rivalry in the Wars of the Roses superbly”

This book contains one of, if not the best battle sequences I’ve ever read: it was just that good. The battle at St Albams was told from alternating point of views capturing the field superbly. The action is described... More

Paperback edition
26th February 2015
Helpful? Upvote 68

“Made me feel that I was there!”

King Henry VI is ill and his Queen, Margaret of Anjou rules in his name. ‘Trinity’ takes the reader through the intrigues of battles and skirmishes between 1454 and 1460. Margaret fights to keep her silent husband on... More

Hardback edition
5th September 2014
Helpful? Upvote 65

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.