Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Winter Agent (Hardback)
  • The Winter Agent (Hardback)
zoom

The Winter Agent (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 28/05/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

* PRE-ORDER YOUR COPY NOW *

January, 1944. A bitter winter grips occupied France, where Marc Reece leads an SOE circuit facing deadly risks, operating in secret to sabotage the German war effort.

But Marc has a second mission, secret from even his fellow agents - including Charlotte, the woman with whom he has ill-advisedly fallen in love. Everyone knows that D-Day is coming, and that the hours following the Allied landings will decide the war - and every last scrap of information he can provide might make all the difference to the fate of the Western world.

But when the circuit is ambushed - with deadly consequences - Marc realizes there may be a spy in their ranks, putting at risk everything they've been fighting for.

Then Charlotte goes missing. Marc faces an awful question - is she in peril, or has he been betrayed by the only woman he was sure he could trust? And if he risks everything in order to find her, what will become of his mission and of the lives that depend on it?

Gripping and atmospheric, this is the story of a man operating in the darkest of circumstances, and the unimaginable sacrifices war demands of those who fight it.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780718187118
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Liberation Square * - *
Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart * Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year *
(A) richly imagined thriller . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world * Sunday Mirror *
An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn * Sun *
A tight and compelling thriller * SFX *
A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant * Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan *
Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland * David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child *
A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss * William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier *
In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill * Jake Kerridge *

You may also be interested in...

Unto Us a Son Is Given
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wakenhyrst
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Noble Path
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Sister, the Serial Killer
Added to basket
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Guardians
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Westwind
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
No Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Dead at First Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Redemption
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Wych Elm
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Lovely Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.