The Winter Agent (Hardback)
  • The Winter Agent (Hardback)
zoom

The Winter Agent (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 28/05/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

THE GRIPPING WWII ESPIONAGE THRILLER ABOUT SURVIVAL, TRUST AND A DEADLY BATTLE FOR THE TRUTH . . .

February, 1944.


A bitter winter grips occupied France, where Marc Reece leads a circuit of British agents risking their lives in order to sabotage the German war effort from within.

But Reece has a second mission, secret even from his fellow agents - including Charlotte, the woman with whom he has ill-advisedly fallen in love. He must secure a document identifying a German spy at the heart of British intelligence. The fate of the Allied forces on D-Day is in his hands.

But when his circuit is ambushed - with fatal consequences - Reece realizes there may be a traitor in its ranks, putting everything they've been fighting for at risk.

Then Charlotte goes missing.


Is she in danger, or has Reece been betrayed by the only person he thought he could trust?

And with the clock ticking towards D-Day, can he find the truth before it's too late?


A gripping and atmospheric thriller inspired by true events, this is the story of a deadly game of espionage, destined to change the course of the most crucial battle in the Second World War.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780718187118
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 629 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Exhaustively researched, superbly realised, The Winter Agent is a superior SOE novel. Gareth Rubin really knows his stuff and it shows on every page * Howard Linskey *
Smart, stylish, meticulously researched. Rich in loyalty and double dealing, captures perfectly the horror and heroism, delivered at a cracking pace * Sun *
Races along, with plenty of surprises * Times *
Brilliant. Blends meticulously researched history with a plot of double-crossing and deception * Best *
Praise for Liberation Square * - *
Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart * Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year *
(A) richly imagined thriller . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world * Sunday Mirror *
An authentic and chilling tale * Sun *
An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn * Sun *
Gripping * i *
A tight and compelling thriller * SFX *
A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant * Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan *
Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland * David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child *
A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss * William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier *
In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill * Jake Kerridge *

You may also be interested in...

The Beginning of Spring
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket

“A solid World War II thriller as Britiain's SOE agents and the French Resistance unite to thwart a Nazi spy.”

A World War II espionage thriller, partly based on a true story, that blends historical facts and real people in with the tale of Marc Reece, an agent of Britain's SOE (Special Operations Executive), leading a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Twist and turns in war time thriller”

I got The Winter Agent by Gareth Rubin, from Netgalley for a fair and honest review

In occupied Paris during the bitter winter of 1944, Marc Reese leads a group of British agents helping France get ready for the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A twisted tale of the French Resistance based on a true story”

A World War II espionage thriller, partly based on a true story, that blends historical facts and real people in with the tale of Marc Reece, an agent of Britain's SOE (Special Operations Executive), leading a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.