Ts&Cs
apply
The Colours (Hardback)
  • The Colours (Hardback)
zoom

The Colours (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 09/04/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A carefully crafted, totally engaging epic family drama' Yorkshire Post

'Delightful' Daily Mail

Da said the Pearson family came out of the sand. He said they were born out of the red clarty sand that stuck to the soles of boots and the hems of frocks.

You couldn't just brush the sand away, you had to beat your clothes with the palm of your hand like you were smacking them for being naughty. You had to bang your boots against the doorstep and find a knife to gouge away the sand that clung to the heels and round the stitching.

Ellen has a unique view of the world but living in a tiny town in the north-east of England, in a world on the cusp of war, no one has time for an orphaned girl who seems a little odd. When she is taken in to look after a rich, elderly widow things seem to be get better, despite musty curtains and an aging employer completely out of touch with the world. But pregnancy out of wedlock spoils all this, and Ellen is unable to cope. How will Jack, her son, survive - alone in the world as his mother was? Can they eventually find their way back to each other?

The Colours is a sweeping novel of how we can lose ourselves, and our loved ones, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Virginia Baily.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780708899373
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 640 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Juliet Bates studied art and art history and there is a delightful observational delicacy to her prose, a careful cataloguing of the everchanging shades of the waves and the vivid red of the 'clarty' sand of Teesby, where the novel is set. It's a quality that perfectly befits the two main characters . . . Theirs is a story of illness, estrangement and misunderstanding * Daily Mail *
This gently-paced, carefully crafted, totally engaging epic family drama spans nearly seventy years and takes in some of the major events of the 20th century . . . Bates explores the complex mother-son relationship at the centre of the novel with great sensitivity and empathy. The misunderstandings, the sense of loss and longing and the absence which haunts both their lives, are very convincingly and poignantly portrayed. And it is all played out in the picturesque landscape of the North Yorkshire coast, described by Bates in lyrical and affectionate detail * Yorkshire Post *
The Colours is a sweeping family drama covering a span of several decades of the 20th century from just before the First World War right up to the Royal Wedding of Charles and Diana in 1981. The imagery and descriptions in the novel are striking, closely observed and beautifully wrought -- Yvette Huddleston * Yorkshire Post *

You may also be interested in...

The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The White Princess
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Queen
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket

“An intense historical novel of place, colour and memory”

This book shows a very clever overlap between characters as the time spans between 1912 and 1981. It tells the story of a girl then woman, Ellen and her son Jack, who both have a unique hypersensitivity to colour,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.