We Swim to the Shark: Overcoming fear one fish at a time (Hardback)
  • We Swim to the Shark: Overcoming fear one fish at a time (Hardback)
zoom

We Swim to the Shark: Overcoming fear one fish at a time (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 30/01/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Georgie Codd is scared of fish. Really, really scared.

She has spent her life beside the water, but won't so much as paddle in it. Even on dry land there's no escape: Georgie sees sharks in the dining room, squid tentacles in the street, has nightmares of being stranded at sea.

She decides that the answer to overcoming this fear lies in travelling to Thailand, learning to dive and swimming with the biggest fish in the world: the massive, mighty whale shark.

Could this immersive therapy actually work? There's only one way to find out. Georgie quits her job, leaves her life behind and plunges into a realm of strange creatures, hidden depths and intrepid diving adventurers. But as her quest expands across the oceans, her shark remains elusive and everything else starts to fall apart around her.

For readers of The Outrun and The Salt Path, We Swim to the Shark is a meditation on diving, grief and what it takes to face our greatest fears.

What readers are saying about We Swim to the Shark:

'Part travelogue, part odyssey and completely engaging. A must read'

'This book is so easy to devour . . . Plus it's full of fascinating facts about fish and how we can save our oceans'

'Adventurous, insightful, informative and entertaining'

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780708899175
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 580 g
Dimensions: 236 x 162 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
an almost spiritual mission . . . sharply drawn * Times Literary Supplement *
smart nature-narrative writing, and hugely enjoyable * Outdoor Swimming Society *
Subtle insight into the inner psyche and the natural world * Hackney Citizen *
We Swim to the Shark is a lesson in not giving up, demonstrating that, as with all good adventure stories, the real benefit is in the searching * The i *
A terrific read * BBC Radio Norfolk *

You may also be interested in...

Fake Law
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
And Away...
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Agent Sonya
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
More Than a Woman
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
I Wanna Be Yours
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Too Many Reasons to Live
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Wild Silence
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Diary of an MP's Wife
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Misfits
Added to basket
£9.99
Hardback
The Mercies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Comfort Book
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
This Much Is True
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
This Much is True
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket

“Fishy Tales!”

The original inspiration for Georgie's first book was how to overcome her fear of fish. However, her story develops into so much more. Not only is it a journey of defeating her fishy phobia, it becomes a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.