The Accident (Paperback)
  • The Accident (Paperback)
zoom

The Accident (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 05/01/2015
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
From Edgar Award-winning Chris Pavone, author of the Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller The Expats, comes a riveting time-bomb of a thriller (fans of The Expats will be excited to see a few characters from Pavone's first book pop up here as well). Taking place over the course of twenty-four hours, The Accident draws on the rich worlds of publishing, politics and international spies to tell a suspenseful tale of intrigue in the vein of John Grisham and Laura Lippman. In New York City, Isabel Reed, one of the most respected and powerful literary agents in the city, frantically turns the pages of a manuscript into the early dawn hours. This manuscript - printed out, hand-delivered, totally anonymous - is full of shocking revelations and disturbing truths linked to a car accident that occurred years ago, things which could compromise national security. Is this what she's been waiting for her entire career: a book that will help her move on from a painful past, a book that could save her beloved industry... a book that will change the world? In Copenhagen, Hayden Gray, a veteran station chief, wary of the CIA's obsession with the Middle East, has been steadfastly monitoring the dangers that abound in Europe. Even if his bosses aren't paying attention, he's determined to stay vigilant. And he's also on the trail of this manuscript - and the secrets that lie at its heart. For him, quite simply, it must never see the light of day. As Isabel and Hayden try to outwit each other, the nameless author watches on from afar. With no-one quite sure who holds all the cards, the stakes couldn't be higher: in just one day careers could be ruined, devastating secrets could be unearthed, and innocent people could die. As the manuscript moves from person to person, it leaves a trail of bodies in its wake. Gripping, sophisticated, and impossible to put down, The Accident is a masterful follow-up to one of the most acclaimed and striking debut thrillers of recent years.

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571298945
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 424 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 34 mm
Edition: Main

You may also be interested in...

The Good Daughter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Munich
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Red Sky at Noon
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dead Ex
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The History of Bees
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Don't Let Go
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Manhattan Beach
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Damaged
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Gathering Dark
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Basingstone Book

“Publishing thriller that does not make the mark”

This story started well enough setting out a decent plot however, that is where the the disappointment and frustration set in. I have not read a book like this for a long time, abruptly flitting about from character... More

Paperback edition
1st May 2014
Helpful? Upvote 52

“For readers of Lee Child ”

A fascinating look into the publishing business which is like cat nip for us booksellers.
As a fan of Lee Child, I found it easy to read at a deafening pace. The storytelling is basic but there's nowt wrong with...

Paperback edition
10th March 2015
Helpful? Upvote 43

“Excellent Thriller”

The Accident not Really Accidental

Oh wow! I could fill this review full of every single cliché on the market. The Accident by Chris Pavone is the follow up from his debut The Expats and with this one book you will... More

Hardback edition
12th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 43

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.