The Accident (Paperback)
  • The Accident (Paperback)
zoom

The Accident (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 05/01/2015
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
From Edgar Award-winning Chris Pavone, author of the Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller The Expats, comes a riveting time-bomb of a thriller (fans of The Expats will be excited to see a few characters from Pavone's first book pop up here as well). Taking place over the course of twenty-four hours, The Accident draws on the rich worlds of publishing, politics and international spies to tell a suspenseful tale of intrigue in the vein of John Grisham and Laura Lippman. In New York City, Isabel Reed, one of the most respected and powerful literary agents in the city, frantically turns the pages of a manuscript into the early dawn hours. This manuscript - printed out, hand-delivered, totally anonymous - is full of shocking revelations and disturbing truths linked to a car accident that occurred years ago, things which could compromise national security. Is this what she's been waiting for her entire career: a book that will help her move on from a painful past, a book that could save her beloved industry... a book that will change the world? In Copenhagen, Hayden Gray, a veteran station chief, wary of the CIA's obsession with the Middle East, has been steadfastly monitoring the dangers that abound in Europe. Even if his bosses aren't paying attention, he's determined to stay vigilant. And he's also on the trail of this manuscript - and the secrets that lie at its heart. For him, quite simply, it must never see the light of day. As Isabel and Hayden try to outwit each other, the nameless author watches on from afar. With no-one quite sure who holds all the cards, the stakes couldn't be higher: in just one day careers could be ruined, devastating secrets could be unearthed, and innocent people could die. As the manuscript moves from person to person, it leaves a trail of bodies in its wake. Gripping, sophisticated, and impossible to put down, The Accident is a masterful follow-up to one of the most acclaimed and striking debut thrillers of recent years.

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571298945
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 424 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 34 mm
Edition: Main

You may also be interested in...

How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Big Sky
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Excellent Thriller”

The Accident not Really Accidental

Oh wow! I could fill this review full of every single cliché on the market. The Accident by Chris Pavone is the follow up from his debut The Expats and with this one book you will... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 66
Basingstone Book

“Publishing thriller that does not make the mark”

This story started well enough setting out a decent plot however, that is where the the disappointment and frustration set in. I have not read a book like this for a long time, abruptly flitting about from character... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 63

“For readers of Lee Child ”

A fascinating look into the publishing business which is like cat nip for us booksellers.
As a fan of Lee Child, I found it easy to read at a deafening pace. The storytelling is basic but there's nowt wrong with...

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 55

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.